Perry County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Perry County

Guide to Perry County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hazard
Organized: November 2, 1820
Parent County(s): Clay, Floyd [1]
Neighboring Counties
Breathitt  • Clay  • Harlan  • Knott  • Leslie  • Letcher  • Owsley
See County Maps
Courthouse
Perry County Kentucky Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ky-perry.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The county and county seat are named after U.S. Naval hero Oliver Hazard Perry (1785-1819).[2]

County Courthouse

Perry County Courthouse
Main Street
Hazard, KY 41701
Phone: 606-436-4614[3]
Perry County Website

Perry County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1821 1852 1821 1901 1820
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing

Record Loss

1885, 1911--Disasters destroyed most records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1820--Perry County was created 2 November 1820 from Clay and Floyd Counties.  
  • County seat: Hazard[4]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Perry County, Kentucky:

  • Acup
  • Airport Gardens
  • Allais
  • Allock
  • Ary
  • Avawam
  • Beech Fork
  • Beehive
  • Big Branch (hist.)
  • Big Hill
  • Blue Diamond
  • Bonnyman
  • Bowlington (hist.)
  • Browns Fork
  • Buckhorn
  • Bulan
  • Busy
  • Butterfly
  • Campbell
  • Chavies
  • Christopher
  • Clemons
  • Combs
  • Cornettsville
  • Curly Fork
  • Daisy
  • Darfork
  • Defiance
  • Delphia
  • Diablock
  • Dice
  • Doorway
  • Dow
  • Dunraven
  • Dwarf
  • Engle
  • Eversole
  • Farler
  • Fourseam
  • Fuson
  • Fusonia
  • Gays Creek
  • Glomawr
  • Grigsby
  • Happy
  • Happy Valley (hist.)
  • Hardburly
  • Harveyton
  • Hazard
  • Hilton
  • Hiner
  • Hurricane
  • Jeff
  • Johnson
  • Jones
  • Kodak
  • Krypton
  • Lamont
  • Lead Branch
  • Leatherwood
  • Little Beech (hist.)
  • Lothair
  • Manuel
  • Middle Fork
  • Middle Squabble
  • Miller
  • Mudlick
  • Napfor
  • Olivers
  • Red Hill
  • Rock Fork
  • Saul
  • Scuddy
  • Sixteen
  • Slemp
  • Stacy
  • Tilford
  • Tribbey
  • Typo
  • Upper Pidgeonroost (hist.)
  • Upper Squabble
  • Vicco
  • Viper
  • Walkertown
  • Wentz
  • Whitaker
  • Whitsett (hist.)
  • Woodland Park
  • Yerkes

History Timeline

Oliver Hazard Perry

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Perry, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Perry county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1830 3,330
1840 3,089 −7.2%
1850 3,092 0.1%
1860 3,950 27.7%
1870 4,274 8.2%
1880 5,607 31.2%
1890 6,331 12.9%
1900 8,276 30.7%
1910 11,255 36.0%
1920 26,042 131.4%
1930 42,186 62.0%
1940 47,828 13.4%
1950 46,566 −2.6%
1960 34,961 −24.9%
1970 25,714 −26.4%
1980 33,763 31.3%
1990 30,283 −10.3%
2000 29,390 −2.9%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Perry County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Perry County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Owsley CountyBreathitt CountyKnott CountyLetcher CountyLeslie CountyClay CountyKY PERRY.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Perry County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 13th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company G

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Perry County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Perry County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Perry County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Perry County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Perry County Public Library
    Central Library
    289 Black Gold Blvd.
    Hazard, KY 41701
    Phone: 606-436-2475
    Website
Records from the now disbanded Perry County Genealogical and Historical Society are now housed in the library.

Museums

Societies

Perry County Genealogical and Historical Society, Inc.
Perry County Library
289 Black Gold Blvd.
Hazard, KY 41701
Telephone: 606-436-2475 or 606-436-4747
Fax:606-436-0191
E-maillibrary@perrylib.org
Website
The Historical society was disbanned about 2000. All their records will now be found at the Perry Co. Public Library

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "List of Counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Perry County, Kentucky page 274, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Perry_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3258842"