Perry County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Perry County
 

Guide to Perry County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Perryville
Organized: December 18, 1840
Parent County(s): Conway[1]
Neighboring Counties
Conway  • Faulkner  • Garland  • Pulaski  • Saline  • Yell
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasPerryCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-perry.png
Adoption
The South Fourche LaFave River, Ouachita Mountains, Perry CO., Arkansas

County Information

Description

The county was named for Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry, naval hero in the War of 1812. The County Seat is Perryville and was founded December 18, 1840. It is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Perry County Courthouse
310 W. Main St
P.O. Box 358;
Perryville, AR 72126-0358
Phone: 501.889.5126
Perry County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and land records from 1882.[3]

Perry County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1882 1914* 1882 1882 1882 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1881 All records except one small chancery volume destroyed by fire.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1840--Perry County was created 18 December 1840 from Conway County.
  • County seat: Perryville[5]

See an interactive map of Perry County boundary changes.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Rose Creek
  • Tyler
  • Union
  • Union Valley (small part of Perryville)
  • Wye


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Perry County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [7]

  • 1808 - Aaron Price, the first recorded white settler in the area, is purported to have settled on the Fourche La Fave River eight to nine miles downstream from present-day Perryville
  • 1840 December 18 - Perry County was created from Pulaski, Conway, Hot Spring, and Yell counties.
  • 1879 March 3 - Perry County petitioned Congress in 1875 for an appropriation to improve navigation on the Fourche La Fave River. The act was approved on March 3, 1879
  • 1879 - German Catholic families settled in east Perry County, naming their community New Dixie.
  • 1912 - African American families settled in the Toad Suck community, also known as Redemption
  • 1912-1914 - Several Lithuanian families immigrated to the United States from 1904 to 1910 because of the Russo-Japanese War and settled near Bigelow.
  • 1915 - A group of Italian immigrants arrived in the east end of the county, bringing their wine-making skills to a region of Perry County that resembled Italy.
  • 1930s - The Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) employed local citizens for their many county work projects. This encouraged people to stay in the area.
  • 1930s (late)-1940s (early) - Migration to California to find work was so extensive that the region around Fresno and Dinub in California became known as “Little Perry County.”

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Perry, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 978
1860 2,465 152.0%
1870 2,685 8.9%
1880 3,872 44.2%
1890 5,538 43.0%
1900 7,294 31.7%
1910 9,402 28.9%
1920 9,905 5.3%
1930 7,695 −22.3%
1940 8,392 9.1%
1950 5,978 −28.8%
1960 4,927 −17.6%
1970 5,634 14.3%
1980 7,266 29.0%
1990 7,969 9.7%
2000 10,209 28.1%
2010 10,445 2.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1882-1955 Perry County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1882-1905; Appraisements 1882-1910; Dockets 1882-1893; Guardian Bonds 1882-1905; Inventories 1882-1944; Letters of administration 1882-1943; Probate records 1882-1902; Wills 1890-1995.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Womack, Patsy. Living the times : 1776-1976, a Bicentennial tribute to Perry County. Salt Lake City, Utah : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2014.
  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Pope CountyConway CountyFaulkner CountyPulaski CountySaline CountyGarland CountyYell County250PX
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Perry County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company B
- 10th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 20th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[8], Companies B and C

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

River Valley Genealogy Society Researchers interested in CONWAY, FAULKNER, PERRY, POPE, YELL AND VAN BUREN COUNTIES.
Farm Bureau Building
201 E. Shady Lane
Morrilton, Arkansas

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Perry County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perry_County,_Arkansas
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Perry County, Arkansas. Page 69 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 66.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Perry County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perry_County,_Arkansas, accessed 7 September 2018.
  7. Lynda Suffridge, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=796&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “PerryCounty.”
  8. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.