Perry County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Perry County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Marion
Organized: December 13, 1819
Parent County(s): Creek Cession, Montgomery[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bibb  • Chilton  • Dallas  • Hale  • Marengo
See County Maps
Courthouse
Perry County Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Perry County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry, of Rhode Island, the United States Navy. The County is located in the west-central location.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Perry County Courthouse
300 Washington St
P O Box 505
Marion, Alabama 36756
334-683-2200
Perry County Website

County Clerk has marriage probate and land records [3]

Perry County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1908 1820 1908 1821 1819 1821 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1819--Perry County was created 13 December 1819 from Montgomery and the Creek Cession of 1814.
  • County seat: Marion[5]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Perry County:[6]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Perry, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Perry county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Perry County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18203,646
183011,490215.1%
184019,08666.1%
185022,28516.8%
186027,72424.4%
187024,975−9.9%
188030,74123.1%
189029,332−4.6%
190031,7838.4%
191031,222−1.8%
192025,373−18.7%
193026,3854.0%
194026,6100.9%
195020,439−23.2%
196017,358−15.1%
197015,388−11.3%
198015,012−2.4%
199012,759−15.0%
200011,861−7.0%
201010,591−10.7%
Est. 201110,373−12.5%

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Perry County see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Perry County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2009. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes surname index. FHL Book 976.144 E7b.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Perry County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

BibbChiltonDallasMarengoHaleAL PERRY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War, 1861-1865
Regiments. Men in Perry County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Perry County:

- 1st Battalion, Alabama Artillery, Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company F[formerly Murphy's Independent Co.]
- 4th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D(Canebrake Rifle Guards)
- 4th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G(Marion Light Infantry)
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Comany A "Alabama Rangers"
- 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Southern Guards"
- 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- 20th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, F and H
- 28th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and K
- 40th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 41st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company I


World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Perry County has three books, with two having working links:

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Perry County is in District 2.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Marion - Perry County Library
202 Washington Street
Marion, Alabama 36756
334-683-6411
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Perry County Genealogical Society
Box 310
Uniontown, Alabama 36786

African-American Genealogical Society of Ala.
P. O. Box 217
Faunsdale, AL
36738
334-627-3772

Perry County Historical Society
Box 257
Marion, Alabama 36756
334-683-6411

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Perry County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/perry/ 6/16/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Perry County, Alabama. Page 37 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 33.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Perry County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perry_County,_Alabama, accessed 23 October 2018.
  7. Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.