Perkins County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Perkins County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Perkins County
Perkins County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Perkins County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 8, 1887
County Seat Grant
Courthouse
px
Address Perkins County Courthouse
200 Lincoln Ave.
P.O. Box 156
Grant, NE 69140-0156
Phone: 308.352.7560


Perkins County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Perkins County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1888 1890 1887 1887


County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage, divorce, court and land records; County Judge has probate records. [1]

Parent County

1887 Perkins County was created 8 November 1887 from Keith County. County seat: Grant [2]

Description

Perkins County is located in the southwestern part of the state.[3] Perkins County was organized in 1887. It is believed to have been named after Charles E. Perkins, the president of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad. [4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [5]

  • Brandon
  • Elsie
  • Grainton
  • Grant
  • Madrid
  • Venango

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 4,364
1900 1,702 −61.0%
1910 2,570 51.0%
1920 3,967 54.4%
1930 5,834 47.1%
1940 5,197 −10.9%
1950 4,809 −7.5%
1960 4,189 −12.9%
1970 3,423 −18.3%
1980 3,637 6.3%
1990 3,367 −7.4%
2000 3,200 −5.0%
2010 2,970 −7.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.


For tips on accessing Perkins County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Perkins County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Perkins - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

Libraries

  • Paxton Public Library
    110 N Oak St
    PO Box 278
    Paxton, NE 69155-0278
    Phone: 308-239-4763
    Fax: 308-239-2376
    e-mail: paxtonlibrary@nebnet.net
    Director: Dianne Jay
  • Goodall City Library
    203 West A St.
    Ogallala, NE 69153
    Phone: 308-284-4354
    Fax: 308-284-6390
    Email: ogallalapubliclibrary.com
    Director: KENDRA CASKEY
  • Big Springs Public Library
    400 Pine St
    PO Box 192
    Big Springs, NE 69122-0192
    Phone: 308-889-3482
    e-mail: mjlibrarians@atcjet.net
    Director: Janey Jimenez

Family History Centers

  • Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Perkins County, Nebraska page 433, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/perkins/ accessed 09/29/2016
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perkins_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Perkins County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perkins_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.