Pepper Gowt Plot, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Pepper Gowt Plot, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Pepper Gowt Plot, Lincolnshire|
|Hundred||West Bolingbroke Soke|
|Poor Law Union||Boston|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Pepper Gowt, par., Lincolnshire, in Boston dist.
The location is approximately that shown for Pepper Gowt in the Boston area enlargement on the 1888 Sanitary Districts Diagram for Lincolnshire. The name has not been located on a topographic map.
Pepper Gowt Plot (also known as Rowlands Marsh} was a tract of land gained by the straightening of the River Witham in the early 19th century. It lies about 2 miles north of the town of Boston, and just south of Antons Gowt. It was briefly a civil parish, between 1858 and 1906, when it was abolished to enlarge the parish of Skirbeck. Skirbeck parish was in turn abolished in 1932, and the area once known as Pepper Gowt Plot or Rowlands marsh, is simply known as Witham Marsh today, and falls within the parish of Fishtoft.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Pepper Gowt Plot parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Pepper Gowt Plot Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Pepper Gowt Plot is an extra parochial place
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Pepper Gowt Plot
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Bartholomew. Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 September 2013.