Pentrich, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Pentrich, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Pentrich St Matthew Derbyshire
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Belper|
|Parish registers: 1621|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Pentrich (St. Matthew), an ancient parish, in the union of Belper, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby; containing, with the chapelry of Ripley, and the hamlet of Butterley and Waingraves. At Ripley is a separate incumbency; and the parish contains places of worship for Independents, Methodists, and Unitarians. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Pentrich parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
| FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Pentrich St Matthew (1621) Parish Online Records|
| FS PR's
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1868 Mar 1663-1836 Burials 1663-1868 Missing Bap & Bur 1841,1853-1855, 1857-1863
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Pentrich on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 549-555. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.