To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Penshurst, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Penshurst, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Penshurst, Kent
Penshurst St John the Baptist Kent.jpg
Penshurst St John the Baptist Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Somerden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1700; Separate records exist for St Peter's Chapel beginning 1849
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Penshurst is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent Penshurst Wikipedia

Penshurst St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish which includes the village of Fordcombe and St Peter's Chapel in the parish.See Fordcombe Wikipedia

The village and civil parish includes Fordcombe and a second church in the parish, Fordcombe St Peter which was built in 1847, previously a chapel of ease within the parish for Fordcombe residents.See Kent Churches website

The church is situated behind Leicester Square in the village and adjacent to Penshurst Place the ancestral Home and estate of the Sidney family and Viscounts de L'Isle. Penshurst Place was built in 1341.See Penshurst Place Wikipedia A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The parish church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building

The church of St Peter (known locally as St Peter's chapel Fordcombe) has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 227-257. Date accessed: 12 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Penshurst North West Kent Family History Society for Anglican churches and chapels and other places of worship in Penshurst area and Penshurst St John the Baptist



Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -

PENSHURST (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Somerden, lathe of Sutton at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 6 miles (W. S. W.) from Tonbridge. There is a place of worship for Baptists. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941 Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Penshurst St John the Baptist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Penshurst Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for the Borough of Hall and Penshurst are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

The image series described as "the borough of Hall" and later as Hall borough in the hundred of Wachlingstone" Land tax assessments for the parish of Penshurst and Hall borough, 1780-1832

Images for Penshurst 1780-1832 are in a separate series of images for " the town and uplands in the Parish of Penshurst".

Edward Hasted describes " There is a district in this parish, called Hallborough, which is within the lowy of Tunbridge....and there is another part of it, comprehending the estate of Chafford, which is within the jurisdiction of the duchy court of Lancaster

The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 227-257. at British History Online

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Penshurst 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Penshurst Poor Law Union,Kent until 1836

Sevenoaks Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 549-555. Date accessed: 27 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk