Penshaw, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Penshaw, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Penshaw All Saints Co Durham
|Poor Law Union||Houghton le Spring|
|Registration District||Houghton le Spring|
|Parish registers: 1754|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PAINSHAW, or Pensher, a township, in the parish and union of Houghton-le-Spring, N division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham, 3 miles N by E from Houghton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans in the village, and also in the hamlet of Shiney Row.
Penshaw was created a parish in 1752 from chapelry in Houghton le Spring Ancient Parish and includes: Bournmoor, Burnmoor, South Biddick, Offerton, and Newbottle.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Penshaw parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Penshaw Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Methodist New Connexion
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Association
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
History of the family of Richard and Eleanor Short of Newham, in Northumberland. Family also came from Berwick on Tweed, and Penshaw in Durham. Article dated 1861-2005, and has a facsimile of The Parade, Berwick, where one of the ancestors lived. Trainer is another surname mentioned. Article in The Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol. 31, no.1, pages 6-7, Family History Library Reference. 942.8 B2jo v.31. no.1. Spring 2006.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Penshaw on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., , A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.