Penrith, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Penrith, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Penrith|
|Parish registers: 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1664|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
PENRITH (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 18 miles (S. E. by S.) from Carlisle, and 283 (N. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Scottish Seceders.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Penrith parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Penrith Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Independent/Congregational - Ebenezer Chapel Births and baptisms, 1815-1837
- Primitive Methodist - Penrith Circuit Church records, 1856-1900
- Roman Catholic - Births and baptisms, 1833-1838
- Society of Friends/Quaker - Penrith Monthly Meeting Register of burials, 1865-1873
and Births, marriages, and burials of the Monthly Meeting of Strickland in the counties of Westmorland and Cumberland, 1653-1837
- Presbyterian Church - Presbyterian Church Rowcliffe Lane Church records, 1751-1877
- Wesleyan Methodist - Penrith Circuit Church records, 1839-1913
- Wesleyan - Sandgate Chapel Births and baptisms, 1814-1837
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Penrith on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.