To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Pennington, Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pennington, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pennington, Hampshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Christchurch
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Lymington
Registration District Lymington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1849
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordingbridge
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PENNINGTON, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Milford, union of Lymington, hundred of Ringwood, Lymington and S. divisions of the county of Southampton.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 08 June 2013.