Pendleton County, Kentucky Genealogy
Guide to Pendleton County, Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Pendleton County, Kentucky|
Location in the state of Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
|Founded||December 4, 1798|
- 1 Pendleton County Kentucky Courthouse
- 2 Pendleton County Kentucky History
- 3 Pendleton County Kentucky Places/Localities
- 4 Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 African American Research
- 4.2 Bibles
- 4.3 Biographies
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Church
- 4.7 Court
- 4.8 Genealogy
- 4.9 Land
- 4.10 Local Histories
- 4.11 Maps
- 4.12 Military
- 4.13 Newspapers
- 4.14 Probate
- 4.15 Timeline
- 4.16 Taxation
- 4.17 Vital Records
- 5 Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy Websites
- 7 Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy References
Pendleton County Kentucky Courthouse
Pendleton County Kentucky History
For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1997 A disaster destroyed some records.
Pendleton County Kentucky Places/Localities
|Caddo||Ezra (hist.)||Ivor||Peach Grove|
|Callensville (hist.)||Flowertown (hist.)||Locust Grove|| |
|Carntown||Four Oaks||Marcus|| |
|Catawba||Fruit Hill (hist.)||McKinneysburg|| |
Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy Resources
African American Research
The following have information concerning African American research. Both should be used:
- 1850 Pendleton County Slave Census
- 1860 Pendlton County Slave Census
- The KY African American Griots Project ~ The Kentucky African American Griots Project
- Sandi Gorin's Tips ~ Hangings in Kentucky 1792 - 1900
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Kentucky Minorities has information specific to Kentucky African Americans.
The following web sites have additional information on Pendleton county cemeteries.
- Interment.net Kentucky cemetery records by county.
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
- Naming the Forgotten ~ Naming the Forgotten - The Eastern State Hospital Project
- ePodunk list of Pendleton County cemeteries] gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
- 1800 Pendleton County Head of Household Census ~ Pendleton County KYGenWeb
- 1810 Pendleton County Census Index ~ Pendleton County USGenWeb Archives
- 1810 Pendleton County Census ~ Pendleton County USGenWeb Archives
- 1820 Pendleton County Census Index ~ Pendleton County USGenWeb Archives
- 1820 Pendleton County Census ~ Pendleton County USGenWeb Archives
- 1830 Pendleton County Census Index ~ Pendleton County USGenWeb Archives
- 1830 Pendleton County Census, pg 62-72 ~ Pendleton County USGenWeb Archives
- 1830 Pendleton County Census pg 73-82 ~ Pendleton County USGenWeb Archives
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Pendleton County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.
See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.
- [Flournoy] Rivers, Flournoy. "The Flournoy Family," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 2, No. 1 (Jul. 1894):81-90; Vol. 2, No. 2 (Oct. 1894):190-213; Vol. 2, No. 3 (Jan. 1895):318-327; Vol. 2, No. 4 (Apr. 1895):437-447; Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jul. 1895):67-79; Vol. 3, No. 4 (Apr. 1896):414-416; Vol. 4, No. 1 (Jul. 1896):97-101. Digitized by JSTOR - free.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Pendleton County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.
Pendleton County Kentucky History ~ history of Pendleton County from KY.gov
Fryer House ~ The Fryer House is located in Butler, Kentucky. This historic two story stone house was built by Pendleton County, Kentucky pioneer Walter Fryer in 1811. Abraham Vastine, a housebuilder, built this house of limestone from an adjacent quarry and it has walls two feet thick. The roof truss system is built of wood framing held together with wooden pegs. The home was not completed until 1813. The home is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Pendleton County Historical Society announced in April 2007 that it had leased the home for 99 years as a museum and Society offices. The building had been vacant for seven years.
Kennett Tavern ~ The Kennett Tavern is located in Falmouth, and is the Commonwealth of Kentucky’s oldest standing commercial building of Federated architectural construction. The facility has been completely renovated and now serves as the City of Falmouth Municipal Building.
- 1861-1865 - Kentucky Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Kentucky Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1912-1950 - Kentucky Confederate Pension Applications 1912-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Pendleton County, Kentucky Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pendleton County, Kentucky Genealogy:
- - 1st Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies A, B and I.
- - 1st Regiment, Kentucky Veteran Cavalry (Wolford's Cavalry) (Union), Companies B and C.
- - 18th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies F, G and K.
- - 40th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, F and G.
- - 11th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company A.
Falmouth Outlook Newspaper ~ Serving Pendleton County since 1907.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pendleton County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Online Probate Records
- 1774 – 1999 Kentucky Wills and Probate Records 1774-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1727 – 1990 Kentucky Probate Records 1727-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1841-1967 - Will Books 1 to 4 (1841-1967) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
|1798||Land records recorded||Source:Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources|
|1799||County formed||Source:Red Book American State, County and Town Sources|
|1799||Court records recorded||Source:Red Book American State, County and Town Sources|
|1799||Marriage records recorded||Source:Red Book American State, County and Town Sources|
|1799||Probate records recorded||Source:Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources|
|1800||First census||Source:Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790-1990|
|1820||No significant boundary changes after this year||Source:Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790-1990|
|1852||Birth records recorded||Source:Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources|
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.
- 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Pendleton County, Kentucky Genealogy is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800, digitized by Ancestry ($).
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Pendleton County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Pendleton County, Kentucky Genealogy Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records
- 1852-1859 - Pendleton County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517871 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1874-1875 - Pendleton County Birth Index 1874-1875. Batch C517872 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1875-1876 - Pendleton County Birth Index 1875-1876. Batch C517873 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1797-1954 - Kentucky, County Marriages, 1797-1954 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1852-1859 - Pendleton County Marriage Index 1852-1859. Batch M517871 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1875-1876 - Pendleton County Marriage Index 1875-1876. Batch M517874 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1876-1878 - Pendleton County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517875 at FamilySearch - free.
Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- Pendleton County Public Library
228 Main Street
Falmouth, KY 41040
Phone: (859) 654-8535
Family History Centers
Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy Websites
- Pendleton County, KY History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Pendleton County KYGenWeb
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Pendleton County, Kentucky Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- KYGen\Web ~ information and project data pertraining to Kentucky and its counties.
- USGenWeb ~ maps, information, archives and projects relating to U.S. states and counties.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ Bible records, cemetery records, obituaries, military records, death notices and other information organized by state and county.
- Pendleton County KY Genealogy (Kentucky Genealogy)
Pendleton County Kentucky Genealogy References
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pendleton County, Kentucky page 274, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.