To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Pender County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pender County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Pender County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Pender County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1875
County Seat Burgaw
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaPenderCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Pender Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Pender County is located in the Southern portion of North Carolina and was named for Confederate General William D. Pender[1].

Pender County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1875 1913 1875 1875 1875 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.


Pender County Courthouse
300 East Freemont St
PO Box 43
Burgaw, North Carolina 28424
Phone: 910-259-1225

Registrar of deeds has birth, marriage and death and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records[3]

Register of Deeds
P.O. Box 43
Burgaw, NC 28425
Phone: 910-259-1205
Fax: 910-259-1299
Website

Clerk Superior Court
P.O. Box 310
Burgaw, NC 28425-0310
Phone: (910) 663-3900

History[edit | edit source]

Pender County was formed in 1875 from New Hanover County. It was named for William Dorsey Pender of Edgecombe County, a Confederate general mortally wounded at the Battle of Gettysburg. It is in the southeastern section of the State and is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean and New Hanover, Brunswick, Columbus, Bladen, Sampson, Duplin and Onslow counties. The present land area is 870.76 square miles (2,255.3 km2) and the 1990 population was 28,855. The county commissioners were ordered to hold their first meeting at Rocky Point. The act provided for the establishment of the town of Cowan as the county seat. In 1877 an act was passed repealing that section of the law relative to the town, and another law was enacted whereby the qualified voters were to vote on the question of moving the county seat to South Washington or any other place which the majority of the voters designated. Whatever place was selected, the town should be called Stanford. In 1879 Stanford was changed to Burgaw, which was by that law incorporated. It is the county seat.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1875--Pender County was established from New Hanover County.
County seat: Burgaw [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Many Pender County Cemeteries have been surveyed and photographed; Following list of Cemeteries can be viewed here:

Pender County Cemeteries

  • Antioch Church Cemetery
  • Armstrong Cemetery
  • John P Bannerman Cemetery
  • Bear Branch Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Bell Cemetery
  • Brown Family Cemetery
  • Carroll - Filyaw Cemetery
  • Crews Family Cemetery
  • Harrell Cemetery
  • Henry Cemetery
  • Herring Chapel United Methodist Church Cemetery
  • Hocutt Family Cemetery
  • Hopewell Presbyterian Church Cemetery
  • James Cemetery
  • Johnson Family Cemetery
  • Jordan Chapel
  • King- McClammy Cemetery
  • Larkin Cemetery
  • Lewis Cemetery
  • Lillington Cemetery
  • Long Creek Loop Road Cemetery
  • Malpass Family Cemetery
  • Maurice A. Moore Cemetery
  • McMillan Cemetery
  • Mt. Olivet Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Oak Tree Road Cemetery
  • Oak Tree Road Cemetery 2
  • Page Cemetery
  • Peterson- Malpass Cemetery
  • Riley Creek Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Rileys Creek Community Cemetery
  • Rochelle Cemetery
  • Rocky Point United Methodist Church Cemetery
  • Scott Cemetery
  • Shepard Cemetery
  • Sidbury Cemetery
  • Simpson Cemetery
  • Slocumb Cemetery
  • St. Paul AME Church Cemetery
  • Vernon-Keith Cemetery
  • Wells-Debose Cemetery
  • Williams Cemetery
  • Wilson Cemetery
  • Wilton Cemetery

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Pender County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church[edit | edit source]

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Hampstead

County Records[edit | edit source]

Court[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

The Pender County Register of Deeds has copies of Births, Marriages and Death Records as well as Land Records and Deeds Records available to the public from their offices and should be contacted to verify which records they have and what their prices are for obtaining them. Note that most of the originals of the older records have been transferred to the State Archives and that the records contained at the County level are usually hand copied into the County Books. Generally, it is much more cost effective to get documents on the County level rather than through the Archives, so you may want to first check with the County Registrar for the records you are in search of.

Pender County Register of Deeds
Howard Holly Building
300 E. Fremont St.
Burgaw, NC 28425
Telephone: 910 - 259-1225

Online Search of Land Records (must create a free login)

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Ncpender.png

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Pender County for European settlers included:[5]

Military[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

The North Carolina State Archives have created an index of Pender County Estates


The Pender County Clerk of the Superior Court has copies of Wills, Estate and other Probate records available to the public from their offices and should be contacted to verify which records they have and what their prices are for obtaining them. Note that most of the originals of the older records have been transferred to the State Archives and that the records contained at the County level are usually hand copied into the County Books.

Clerk of the Superior Court
Pender County Courthouse
100 Wright Street
Burgaw, NC

and
100 Dickerson Street
Burgaw, NC
(910) 663-3900

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]

Yearbooks[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Pender
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pender County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pender County, North Carolina. Page 512 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.