To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Pell Street, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pell Street, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Matthew Pell Street was a mission church purchased in 1847. Originally, it was known as the "New Mulberry Garden Chapel...built for the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion in 1805... They left the area in the 1840s, and the building stood empty for a time. Although it was very close to the parish church, it was bought in 1847 by the London Diocesan Church Building Society for £1,300 and initially opened as a mission chapel. Bryan King, the Rector, raised some concerns over creating a new district, but gave his consent. Ewan Christian, architect to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, surveyed the building and insisted that it must be repaired and refurnished before it was fit for purpose. This was done, at a cost of £400 (provided by Mr Coope of Brentwood), and it was consecrated on 4 November 1859, with 650 sittings, and assigned a district by Order in Council on 7 March 1860, with the Bishop of London as patron.[1]

Additional information:

St Matthew eventually was united to that of the ancient parish of St. George in the East (1729) and St George in the East w/ St Matthew Pell Street, and lay within its civil boundaries.

Online here.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Pell Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Pell Street Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. St Matthew Pelll Street, Adapted. Date accessed: 07 February 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk