To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Peasemore, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Peasemore, Berkshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Peasemore, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Peasemore, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faircross
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wantage
Registration District Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newbury
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PEASEMORE, a parish, in the union of Wantage, hundred of Faircross, county of Berks, 7 miles (N.) from Newbury. The Primitive Methodists have a place of worship.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Peasemore parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Berkshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Peasemore Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1917
1800-1836
1538-1965
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


IGI 1538-1708, 1709-1803
1540-1762


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1948
1538-1948
1538-1948
FS Catalog BTs
1607-1834
1607-1834
1607-1834

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Primitive Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Peasemore in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 540-542. Date accessed: 10 April 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch