Peak Forest, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Peak Forest, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Peak Forest, Derbyshire|
Peak Forest St Charles King and Martyr Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Chapel en le Frith|
|Registration District||Chapel en le Frith|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield; Court of the Peculiar of Peak Forest|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Peak Forest, St Charles King and Martyr, was originally an extra parochial chapelry in the union of Chapel-en-le-Frith. The chapel was built in 1657 and is now considered a parish. The hamlet of Dove Holes, Derbyshire was added in 1983.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Peak Forest parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Peak Forest King Charles the Martyr (1698) Parish Online Records|
Peak Forest is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. See England Jurisdictions 1851 for surrounding parishes.
Peak Forest St Charles King and Martyr was originally an extra parochial peculiar. The chapel was built in 1657 and is now considered a parish. The hamlet of Dove Holes, Derbyshire was added in 1983
Derbyshire Record Office reference D3578 has deposited registers Bap 1698-1898 Mar 1698-1847 Burials 1678-1936 Banns 1876-1938
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1813-1867 Mar 1813-1831 Burials 1813-1867 Missing Bap & Bur 1832-1847, 1849-1862
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Peak Forest on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 540-542.Date accessed: 24 May 2013.