Payette County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Payette County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Payette County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||February 28, 1917|
|Address||Payette County Courthouse|
1130 3rd Avenue North
Payette, ID 83661
Phone: 208- 642-6000
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Quick Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church Records
- 5.4 County Commissioners' Records
- 5.5 Court Records
- 5.6 Directories
- 5.7 History
- 5.8 Land and Property
- 5.9 Maps
- 5.10 Migration
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.13 Newspapers
- 5.14 Obituaries
- 5.15 Probate
- 5.16 Taxation
- 5.17 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named in honor of the area's first white settler, Francois Payette, a Canadian fur trapper and explorer. The County has Payette as its seat and the County was created February 28, 1917. The County is located in the west central area of the state.
Payette County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Payette County Courthouse
1130 3rd Avenue North
Payette, ID 83661
Phone: 208- 642-6000
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1917 and military discharge records from 1919
[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Home Town Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have websites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Payette County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Payette County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Payette County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Payette.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Idaho Cemeteries for more information.|
There are many cemeteries in Payette County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Payette County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
In 1930, Payette County was part of the Northwestern States Mission. There were no Stakes organized at that time.
- The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in Payette County, Idaho prior to 1950.
- 1917--Payette County was created 28 February 1917 from Canyon County
- New Plymouth
Current[edit | edit source]
Historical[edit | edit source]
Early Payette Idaho Churches by Ron Marlow
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Payette County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Payette County courthouse in Payette, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Payette County that have been microfilmed include:
- Judgment records, 1917-1930 Idaho. District Court (Payette County)
Directories[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has a collection of city, county, state and regional directories.
History[edit | edit source]
Link to the history of the city of Payette: Payette History
Link to stories of people and places: Payette County Histories
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Payette County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Payette, Idaho.
At this time there do not appear to be any microfilmed copies of Payette County's land and property records. Earlier records might be found in Canyon County from which it was formed.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Link to historic maps of Payette County: payettecounty.info/maps/intro.html.
- A digital Payette County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Payette County, Idaho is available online.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Payette County, Idaho Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Payette County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452220) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Current[edit | edit source]
Historical[edit | edit source]
Copies of issues of many Idaho newspapers are in the collections of the Idaho State Archives
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1857-1989 - Idaho Wills and Probate Records 1857-1989 at Ancestry.com $
Record A (1896-1925) of Payette's probate records has been microfilmed and copies are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, or at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Copies can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City, or in any of its Family History Centers.
Any other existing probate records or those of later dates should be available at the Payette County courthouse in Payette and can be accessed by visiting there.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Payette County should be in the courthouse in Payette and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 - Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch.
Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Payette County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1864-1976 - Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 - Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 - Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 - Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Over 7400 marriages, 1917-1964, are listed on Western States Marriage Index.
There are 143 Payette County marriages in the online Idaho Marriages.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch
- 1938-1961 - Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Fruitland Community Library
500 Southwest 3rd Street, Fruitland, ID 83619
- Armoral Tuttle Public Library
301 Plymouth Avenue, New Plymouth, ID 83655
- Payette County Museum
90 South 9th Street, Payette, ID 83661
- Payette County Historical Society
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Payette County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Payette County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Payette, Idaho Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/ida/payette/."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Payette County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Payette, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Owyhee County,Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Payette_County,_Idaho#Communities, accessed 14 June 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map V" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at (accessed 18 July 2011).