Pavia, Lombardy, Italy Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pavia Province ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Italy Research Topics
Roman Forum
Beginning Research
Record Types
Italy Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Pavia Province
Ask the
Community



Most of your genealogical research for Pavia, Lombardy will be in two main record types: civil registration (registri dello stato civile) and church records (registri ecclesiastici). This article will teach you methods for locating and searching these two record groups.

History[edit | edit source]

Pavia Province (Wikipedia)

City of Pavia[edit | edit source]

In the 12th century Pavia acquired the status of a self-governing commune and in the following centuries Pavia was an important and active town. The Battle of Pavia (1525) marks a watershed in the city's fortunes, since by that time, the former cleft between the supporters of the Pope and those of the Holy Roman Emperor had shifted to one between a French party who were allied with the Pope, and a party supporting the Emperor and King of Spain. During the Italian Wars, Pavia was on the Imperial and Spanish side. The defeat and capture of king Francis I of France during the battle ushered in a period of Spanish occupation which lasted until 1713 at the conclusion of the War of the Spanish Succession. Pavia was then ruled by the Austrians until 1796, when it was occupied by the French army under Napoleon.
In 1815, it again came under Austrian administration until the Second War of Italian Independence in 1859 and the unification of Italy one year later.

Pavia (Wikipedia)

Municipalities in Pavia[edit | edit source]

Alagna, Albaredo Arnaboldi, Albonese, Albuzzano, Arena Po, Badia Pavese, Bagnaria, Barbianello, Bascapè, Bastida Pancarana, Battuda, Belgioioso, Bereguardo, Borgarello, Borgo Priolo, Borgo San Siro, Borgoratto Mormorolo, Bornasco, Bosnasco, Brallo di Pregola, Breme, Bressana Bottarone, Broni, Calvignano, Campospinoso, Candia Lomellina, Canevino, Canneto Pavese, Carbonara al Ticino, Casanova Lonati, Casatisma, Casei Gerola, Casorate Primo, Cassolnovo, Castana, Casteggio, Castelletto di Branduzzo, Castello d'Agogna, Castelnovetto, Cava Manara, Cecima, Ceranova, Ceretto Lomellina, Cergnago, Certosa di Pavia, Cervesina, Chignolo Po, Cigognola, Cilavegna, Codevilla, Confienza, Copiano, Corana, Cornale e Bastida, Corteolona e Genzone, Corvino San Quirico, Costa de' Nobili, Cozzo, Cura Carpignano, Dorno, Ferrera Erbognone, Filighera, Fortunago, Frascarolo, Galliavola, Gambarana, Gambolò, Garlasco, Gerenzago, Giussago, Godiasco Salice Terme, Golferenzo, Gravellona Lomellina, Gropello Cairoli, Inverno e Monteleone, Landriano, Langosco, Lardirago, Linarolo, Lirio, Lomello, Lungavilla, Magherno, Marcignago, Marzano, Mede, Menconico, Mezzana Bigli, Mezzana Rabattone, Mezzanino, Miradolo Terme, Montalto Pavese, Montù Beccaria, Montebello della Battaglia, Montecalvo Versiggia, Montescano, Montesegale, Monticelli Pavese, Mornico Losana, Mortara, Nicorvo, Olevano di Lomellina, Oliva Gessi, Ottobiano, Palestro, Pancarana, Parona, Pavia, Pietra de' Giorgi, Pieve Albignola, Pieve del Cairo, Pieve Porto Morone, Pinarolo Po, Pizzale, Ponte Nizza, Portalbera, Rea, Redavalle, Retorbido, Rivanazzano Terme, Robbio, Robecco Pavese, Rocca de' Giorgi, Rocca Susella, Rognano, Romagnese, Roncaro, Rosasco, Rovescala, Ruino, San Cipriano Po, San Damiano al Colle, San Genesio ed Uniti, San Giorgio di Lomellina, San Martino Siccomario, San Zenone al Po, Sannazzaro de' Burgondi, Sant'Alessio con Vialone, Sant'Angelo Lomellina, Santa Cristina e Bissone, Santa Giuletta, Santa Margherita di Staffora, Santa Maria della Versa, Sartirana Lomellina, Scaldasole, Semiana, Silvano Pietra, Siziano, Sommo, Spessa, Stradella, Suardi, Torrazza Coste, Torre Beretti e Castellaro, Torre d'Arese, Torre d'Isola, Torre de' Negri, Torrevecchia Pia, Torricella Verzate, Travacò Siccomario, Trivolzio, Tromello, Trovo, Val di Nizza, Valeggio, Valle Lomellina, Valle Salimbene, Valverde, Varzi, Velezzo Lomellina, Vellezzo Bellini, Verretto, Verrua Po, Vidigulfo, Vigevano, Villa Biscossi, Villanova d'Ardenghi, Villanterio, Vistarino, Voghera, Volpara, Zavattarello, Zeccone, Zeme, Zenevredo, Zerbo, Zerbolò, Zinasco

Locating Town of Origin in Italy[edit | edit source]

In order to research your family in Italy, it is essential that you have identified the place where they came from. You must know the city, town, or parish that they came from. A few records are indexed, but many records will require going directly to photocopied local records, which are only available by town name. it will be difficult to identify the place of origin by going directly to Italy sources. Therefore, you will need to search in United States (or other country of arrival) sources first. See Italy Gathering Information to Locate Place of Origin to learn how to search for the Italian place of origin in United States records.

Civil Registration (registri dello stato civile)[edit | edit source]

  • Civil registration records (registri dello stato civile) are government records of births, marriages, and deaths.
  • Dates: In southern Italy, registering births, marriages, and deaths began in 1809 (1820 in Sicily). In central and northern Italy, civil registration began in 1866 (1871 in Veneto). After this date, virtually all individuals who lived in Italy were recorded.
  • Language: The records were almost always kept in Italian, except for records kept during the rule of foreign powers such as France and Austria. In the northern regions, many records are in French and German. Some church records were transcribed into civil registration records in Latin. Don't worry; you will be able to search these foreign languages by learning just a few typical words such as those for mother, father, born, name, bride, groom, married, etc. More help with this is given later in this article.
  • Accessing the records: Civil registration records were and are kept at the local registrar’s office (anagrafe) in each town or city. A copy of each record is sent to the tribunale (district court).
  • Determining the locality: You must determine the town where your ancestor lived before you can find the records. Your ancestor may have lived in a village that belonged to a nearby larger town. Large cities may have many civil registration districts. You may need to use maps, gazetteers, and other geographic references to identify the place where your ancestor lived and the civil registration office that served that place. See Italy Maps and Italy Gazetteers for information on how to find civil registration offices.
  • State of the Family (Stato di famiglia): A civil record unique to Italy is the stato di famiglia, or state of the family certificate. The comune keeps a record of each family and updates each change, including births, marriages, deaths, and emigration. All individuals in a household are included. Some households include more than one family. Historical states of the family (stato di famiglia storico) are kept at the provincial archive (ufficio dello stato civile). These records document past generations of families. Not all areas have kept this record, but where they exist, they are a valuable research tool.


1. Online Digital Records for Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

For some localities, digital copies of civil registration can be searched online:


"Nati" are births. "Matrimoni" and "allegati" are marriages. "Morti" are deaths. "Indici decennali" is the 10-year index.

2. Microfilm or Digital Copies of Civil Registration Records in the FamilySearch Catalog[edit | edit source]

Icon-warning.png

There are many microfilmed records available but not included in the online collections. Also digitized records are being added directly to the catalog without appearing in FamilySearch Historical Records listings.Currently, all microfilms are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you. To find a record:

a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Italy, Pavia.
b. Click on "Places within Italy, Pavia" and a list of towns and cities will open.
c. Click on the town or city you wish to search.
d. Click on "Civil Registration" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
e. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor.
f. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

3. Writing for Civil Registration Certificates[edit | edit source]

If the records are not online or microfilmed, civil registration records in Italy can be obtained by writing to the local civil registry. Civil officials will generally answer correspondence in Italian. Your request may be forwarded if the records have been sent to the tribunale or the provincia.

Address list for municipalities of Pavia
Format for address for local office: use this address as a guide, replacing the information in parentheses:

Sindaco
Comune di (name of the locality)
(Street address, if known)
(postal code) (city) (Province abbreviation:PD)
Italy

Address for provincial office:

UFFICIO ANAGRAFE E STATO CIVILE
15, Via Curzola
35135 Padova (PD)
Italy

After you have determined what office has jurisdiction over the records you need, write a brief request to the proper office. Write your request in Italian whenever possible. For writing your letter in Italian, use the translated questions and phrases in this Italy Letter Writing Guide. Send the following:

  • Cashier’s check or international money order (in local currency) for the search fee. See How To Send Return Postage and Money.
  • Full name and the sex of the person sought.
  • Names of the parents, if known.
  • Approximate date and place of the event.
  • Your relationship to the person.
  • Reason for the request (family history or medical).
  • Request for a complete extract of the record


If your request is unsuccessful, search for duplicate records that may have been filed in other archives or search in church registers.

Church Records (registri ecclesiastici)[edit | edit source]

  • Church records (registri ecclesiastici) are vital records kept by priests and are often called parish registers or church books. They include records of christenings (baptisms), marriages, and deaths (burials). In addition, church records may include confirmations, first communions, and church census records. The Roman Catholic Church is traditionally recognized as the state church because most Italians are Roman Catholic. Nearly every person who lived in Italy was recorded in a church record during the last 200 to 300 years.
  • Church records are crucial for research before the civil government started keeping vital records, which began about 1809 to 1820, and in some provinces, 1866 or 1871. After that, church records continued to be kept but often contain less information. It can be helpful to search both types of records, particularly if your ancestors' information seems to be missing from one or the other. Of course, in some cases you will find only church records online for a locality, which are therefore more accessible than writing for civil registration. However, they usually contain fewer details.

1. Digital Online and Microfilm Church Records in the FamilySearch Catalog[edit | edit source]

There are some microfilmed records available. Currently, they are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you. To find a microfilm:

a. Click on this link to see a list of records for Italy, Pavia.
b. Click on "Places within Italy, Pavia" and a list of towns and cities will open.
c. Click on the town or city you wish to search.
d. Click on "Church Records" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
e. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor. "Battesimi" are infant baptisms, which are used for birth information. "Matrimoni" are marriages. "Morti" are deaths.
f. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.

2. Writing to a Catholic Priest for Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptism, marriage, and death records may be searched by contacting or visiting local parish or diocese archives in Italy. Italy has no single repository of church records. Write your request in Italian whenever possible. This method is not always reliable. Officials might or might not respond.

Write a brief request in Italian to the proper church using this address as guide replacing the information in parentheses:

Reverendo Parroco
(Street address, if known: consult The Catholic Directory)
(Postal code) (City) (Province abbreviation:PD)
ITALY

Write your request in Italian whenever possible. For writing your letter in Italian, use the translated questions and phrases in this Italy Letter Writing Guide. When requesting information, send the following:

  • Cashier’s check or international money order (in local currency) for the search fee. See How To Send Return Postage and Money.
  • Full name and the sex of the person sought.
  • Names of the parents, if known.
  • Approximate date and place of the event.
  • Your relationship to the person.
  • Reason for the request (family history or medical).
  • Request for a complete extract of the record


Reading the Records[edit | edit source]

  • You do not have to be fluent in Italian to read your documents. Genealogical records usually contain a limited vocabulary. Use this Italian Genealogical Word List to translate the important points in the document. If you find that the records are written in German, French, or Latin, click on that language link in this sentence.
  • Online interactive slideshow lessons are available to help you learn to read these records:

Tips for Finding Your Ancestor in the Records[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration Tips[edit | edit source]

  • In many areas during the earliest years of civil registration, records were indexed by the given names. Therefore, you must search every entry in the index to make sure you find every individual who had a certain surname.
  • Eventually, however, indexes were alphabetized by surname. Women are always found in the indexes under their maiden names.
  • Births were generally registered within a day or two of the child’s birth, usually by the father of the family or by the attending midwife. Corrections to a birth record may have been added as a marginal note. In later records, marginal notes' are frequently found, providing marriage and death information.
  • After 1809 Napoleonic law required that the marriage ceremony be performed first by a civil authority and then, if desired, by a church authority. At first, some people resisted this law and had their marriages performed by church authority only. Later when it became legally necessary for their children to be recognized as legitimate, a civil ceremony was performed. In rare cases, you may find a marriage record for a couple in their 50s who were actually married 30 years earlier. In most cases you may find marriages recorded in both civil and church records.
  • Marriages were usually performed and recorded where the bride lived.
  • Do not overlook the importance of death records. Death records are especially helpful because they may provide important information about a person’s birth, spouse, and parents. Civil death records often exist for individuals for whom there are no birth or marriage records.

Church Record Tips[edit | edit source]

  • Effective use of church records includes the following strategies:
  1. When you find an ancestor’s birth or baptismal record, search for the births of siblings.
  2. Search for the parents’ marriage record. Typically, the marriage took place one or two years before the oldest child was born.
  3. Search for the parent’s birth records. On the average, people married in their early 20s, so subtact 25 or so years from the marriage date for a starting year to search for the parents' birth records.
  4. If you do not find earlier generations in the parish registers, search neighboring parishes.
  5. Search the death registers for all known family members.
  • If the original church records that you need have been lost or destroyed or are illegible, you may be able to find a duplicate church record. Unfortunately it was not standard practice to keep duplicate records until the 1900s. But some dioceses started making duplicates as early as 1820. Duplicates, when they exist, are normally located at the curia vescovile (diocesan archives).
  • In Italy, the parish priest was often required to collect taxes. He would sometimes record information about his parishioners and the tax in church censuses (stato delle anime or status animarum). If the censuses do exist for your parish, the registers list all family members living in a household and their ages or birth dates. Deceased children were not listed. Married children, if living in the same household, were recorded with the family but as a separate household. Familial relationships and addresses were also noted.