Paulding County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Paulding County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Paulding County

Guide to Paulding County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Paulding County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Paulding County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 3, 1832
County Seat Dallas
Courthouse
Address Paulding County Courthouse
11 Courthouse Square
Dallas, GA 30132-1401
Phone: 770.445.7527
Paulding County Website


County Information

Paulding County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Paulding County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1833

1840
1848
1850


County Courthouse

Paulding County Courthouse
11 Courthouse Square
Dallas, GA 30132-1401
Phone: 770.445.7527

Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court reocrds from 1876 and land records from 1848[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
280 Constitution Blvd.
Room 1023
Dallas, GA 30132
Phone: (770) 443-7527
Fax: (770) 505-3863

Probate Court of Paulding County
280 Constitution Blvd
Dallas, GA 30132
Phone: 770-443-7541

History

Parent County

1832--Paulding County was created 3 December 1832 from Cherokee County. County seat: Dallas [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

War.jpg
1864 The courthouse at Van Wert was burned 2 or 3 November 1864 during the American Civil War. Many county records were lost.[3] Deeds from 1851, Superior Court minutes from 1859, wills from 1850, and letters of administration from 1856 survived. [3] [4]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bartow County  • Carroll County  • Cobb County  • Douglas County  • Haralson County  • Polk County


Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Paulding, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Paulding County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Paulding County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gapaulding.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Paulding County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Paulding County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 7th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 19th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 40th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A and F
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 60th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Foster, W. A., and Thomas Allan Scott. 1983. Paulding County: its people and places. Roswell, Ga: W.H. Wolfe Associates. (give all company abount, plux many more company) 975.8373 H2
  • Herring, Dorothy Holland. 1987. Company A of the Fourtieth Georgia Regiment in Confederate service. [Jonesboro, GA]: [D.H. Herring].  (page 12) 975.8373 M2 digital version
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Paulding County). 1965. Confederate pension roll, 1890-1929, 1931-1940. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 422021
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Paulding County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.


  • Veterans- Salute to our Veterans who serve our country through out all wars and peace-time.
  • Fallen Heroes-Tribute to our Fallen Heroes who gave the ulitmate sacrifice for our freedom.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

  • 1855-1877 - Wills, Appraisements, Returns, Vouchers, 1855-1877 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
  • 1833 - 1882 - Paulding County Marriage Books 1 and B Index 1833-1882. Batch M713481 at FamilySearch - free.[8]
  • 1881 - 1891 - Paulding County Marriage Book C Index 1881-1891. Batch M713482 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1892 - 1895 - Paulding County Marriage Index 1892-1895. Batch M713483 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1892 - 1965 - Paulding County Marriage Index 1892-1965. Batch M713484 at FamilySearch - free.
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Paulding County Historical Society and Museum
PO Box 333
Dallas, GA 30132
Telephone Number: 770-505-3485
Website

Paulding County Genealogical Society
PO Box 2332
Dallas, GA 30132
Telephone Number: 678-909-4363
Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Paulding County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 47-48. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Georgia, Court of Ordinary (Paulding County), Probate records : wills, Inferior and Ordinary Court minutes; estate records; inventories and appraisments; annual returns and vouchers; bills of sales, miscellaneous estate records, and 12 month support, 1850-1965 (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah in Dallas, Georgia at the Georgia State Department of Archives and History, 1965). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 419181-96.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.