Patrick County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Patrick County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Patrick County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia, United States Genealogy
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Patrick County is located in the Southern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and shares a border with North Carolina. Patrick County was named in honor of Patrick Henry.
Patrick County, Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Patrick County Courthouse
101 Blue Ridge Street
P O Box 148
Stuart, Virginia 24171-0148
Clerk Circuit Court has birth, and death records 1853-1896
marriage, divorce, probate and land records from 1791
General compliance year is unknown.
Patrick County, Virginia History[edit | edit source]
The county was named after Virginia Governor Patrick Henry (1736-1799).
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1810, 1890
Patrick County, Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1872 Virginia Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009, index and images, incomplete
- Heinegg, Paul. "Patrick County Personal Property Tax List, 1791-1814," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
- Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans of Patrick County.
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1800-1986 - Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — index
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Patrick County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
1790 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
1800 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
1810 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
- Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Patrick County.]
1890 Union Veterans
- "Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890." Prince William County Virginia, by Ronald Ray Turner. FHL Collection. Includes residents of this county.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Baptist[edit | edit source]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Jack's Creek (1804)
- Smith's River is discussed in Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 10, No. 3 (Aug. 1986): FHL Book 975.5 D25v v. 10 (1986).
Patrick County fell within the bounds of the Strawberry Association.
Quaker[edit | edit source]
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Blue Ridge Mission (1883-1916) aka Broadway
Court[edit | edit source]
- Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Record Index can be used to search digital images of Patrick County chancery records for the years 1803-1912.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009, index and images, incomplete
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Compiled Genealogies by Surname
- See Patrick County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies for a list of 50+ published books and articles.
Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families
- Patrick County Genealogy Society. Patrick County Virginia Heritage Book. Stuart, Va.: Patrick County Genealogy Society, 2000. FHL Collection
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Pedigo, Virginia G. History of Patrick and Henry Counties, Virginia. Roanoke, Va.: Stone Printing and Manufacturing Co., 1933. Original edition and 1977 reprint available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
- Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Patrick County to other parts of the country.]
Military[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Patrick County on page 132.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
Patrick County men served in the 18th Regiment.
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Patrick County, p. 97. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Patrick County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Patrick County, Virginia Genealogy:
- Information about the Companies that served from Patrick County can be found at:
(1) FHL book 975.5695 H2h titled History of Patrick County, Virginia, pages 97-164
(2) FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29 titled A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations 1861-1865
- - 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company H.
- - 5th Battalion, Virginia Reserves (Confederate)
- - 6th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- - 12th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- - 21st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G 2nd.
- - 24th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company H.
- - 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I.
- - 29th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E.
- - 42nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Patrick Henry Volunteers).
- - 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Wise Yankee Catchers) and Company K (Patrick Boys).
- - 51st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).
- - 58th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Patrick Grays).
- - The Orange Artillery (Confederate)
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Patrick County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.
Private Papers[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
A free index to Patrick County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1791-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
|Online Patrick County, Virginia Tax Lists|
- [1791-1814] Patrick County Personal Property Tax Lists 1791-1814 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
- [1791-1799] Land Tax, 1791-1799, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 24, No. 2 (May 1986); Vol. 24, No. 3 (Aug 1986).
-  Baughan, Barbara C. and Betty A. Pilson. Miscellaneous Records of Patrick County, Virginia. Westminster, Md.: Willow Bend Books, 1999. FHL 975.5695 P28ba [Includes 1791 land tax.]
- [1791-1814] Heinegg, Paul. "Patrick County Personal Property Tax List, 1791-1814," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
-  County Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 48, No. 2 (Apr. 2004).
-  Index of the 1810 Patrick County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes - free.
-  Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax list. Patrick County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.]
-  Tax List, 1810, Southwest Virginian. Norton VA: Dec 1980. Vol. 3 Iss. 18.
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Patrick County is included in Vol. 2.]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Patrick County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1896 - Patrick County Birth Index 1853-1896. Batch C868645 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1853-1866 - Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1660-1959 - Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1785-1940 Virginia, Select Marriages, 1785-1940 at Ancestry.com ($) — index
- 1791-1912 - Patrick County Marriage Index 1791-1812. Batch M868644 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1853-1935 - Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1876-1899 - Virginia Marriages 1876-1899 (Ancestry) ($).
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1870 - Patrick County Death Index 1853-1870. Batch B868645 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1912-1987 - Virginia, Death Certificates, 1912-1987 at FamilySearch — index and images
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Patrick County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Bassett Historical Center, Bassett, Virginia. Website includes collection description. Excellent resource for family history research in Henry, Patrick, Floyd, Franklin and Pittsylvania counties in Virginia, the city of Martinsville, Virginia, and Rockingham, Stokes and Surry counties in North Carolina.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
To locate the closest family history center or affiliate library, use the link listed above.
Patrick County, Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Patrick County, Virginia USGENWEB
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Patrick County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Patrick County, Virginia. Page 718 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Patrick County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Patrick_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
- Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 338-339. Digital version at Google Books.
- Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 166. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
- Patrick County Historical Society, History of Patrick County, Virginia (Stuart, Va.: Patrick County Historical Society, 1999). FHL Book 975.5695 H2h.
- Michael A. Cavanaugh, 6th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 43.
- John E. Olson, 21st Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 57.
- Darryl Holland, 24th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 128.
- Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
- John Perry Alderman, 29th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 53.
- John Chapla, 42nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 5.
- John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
- History of Patrick County, Virginia (Stuart, Va.: Patrick County Historical Society, 1999), 100-101. FHL Book 975.5695 H2h.
- Robert J. Driver, Jr. 58th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 68.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- Alice J. Sweeney,