To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Passaic County, New Jersey)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Passaic County, New Jersey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}


Passaic County, New Jersey
Map
Map of New Jersey highlighting Passaic County
Location in the state of New Jersey
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Jersey
Location of New Jersey in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 7, 1837
County Seat Paterson
Courthouse
Address Passaic County Courthouse
401 Grand St #130

Paterson, NJ 07505
Phone: (973) 225-3632
Passaic County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Passaic County is located in the northeast region of the state. It was created in 1837. Paterson is the county seat. The county was named for "Pasaeck", a Lenape word meaning "valley".[1]


Passaic County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1837 1901 1900 1837 1837 1830
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1840. General compliance by 1920.

Passaic County, New Jersey Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.


Parent County[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1907, part back to Essex County.

For animated maps illustrating New Jersey county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation New Jersey County Boundary Maps" (1683-1928) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible[edit | edit source]

Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NJGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NJGenWeb Archives
NJTombstone Project
NJInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political. or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Betts, Enid. A Sanderson Family and Its Branches. History of Stepen Sanderson born 1811, and his wife Elizabeth Aisbitt and descendants. According to the IGI the Sandersons were in Houghton le Spring, from the late 1500's. Other areas the descendants were in: Eighton Banks, Gateshead Pelaw, Bishop Wearmouth, with a branch going to USA, Patterson, New Jersey,and another branch to Australia. Surnames mention: Liddell, Fenwick, Wynn, Armstrong, Hunter, Best, Murray, Reay, Lockey, Wanless and Smith. Article dated 1560-1985, and is found in The Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol.27, no.3,pages 92-95. Family History Library Reference 942.8 B2jo v.27.no.3.(autumn 2002)

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.


Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Maps[edit | edit source]

Rockland CountyOrange CountyBergen CountyEssex CountyMorris CountySussex CountyNJ PASSAIC.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogy:


- 70th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A and I.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Poorhouse, Almshouse[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page New Jersey Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

Obtaining Copies of County Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Copies of recorded probate records and the estate files can be obtained from the surrogate's offices for a fee. Addresses of surrogate's offices are found in:

  • Eichholz, Alice, Editor. Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. Revised Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry, 1992. (Family History Library book 973 D27rb 1992.) Explains state-by-state history, vital records, census, background sources, periodicals, archives, libraries, societies, maps, land, probate, court, tax, cemetery, church, and military records. Includes county boundary map and table which shows when each county was created and the parent counties.

In addition, copies of the original wills, administrations, inventories, and guardianships sent to Trenton since 1901 can be ordered from: Online Probate Records

Clerk of the Superior Court
Records Information Center
P.O. Box 967
Trenton, NJ 08625-0967
Phone: (609) 292-4978
Fax: (609) 777-0094

Online Probate Records

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Passaic County,  New Jersey
Archives[edit | edit source]
Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Passaic County Courthouse
401 Grand St #130
Paterson, NJ 07505
Phone: (973) 225-3632

County Clerk has divorce records from 1947, court records from 1900 and land records. County Surrogate has probate records. [4]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]

Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club
Lambert Castle
3 Valley Road
Paterson NJ 07509
Telephone: 973-881-2761
E-mail:library@lambertcastle.org
Website

Jefferson Township Historical Society
315 Dover-Milton Road
Jefferson Township - Milton, Oak Ridge, NJ 07438
Telephone: 973-697-0258
E-mail:info@jthistoricalsociety.org
Website

North Jersey Highlands Historical Society
PO Box 248
Ringwood, NJ, 07456
E-mail:info@northjerseyhistory.org
Website



Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Hudson County,  New Jersey

Schools[edit | edit source]

Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:

Taxation[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.


Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

1606-1981 - New Jersey, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $

Passaic County, New Jersey Websites[edit | edit source]

Passaic County, New Jersey Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Passaic County


Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Passaic County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia : the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Passaic_County,_New_Jersey accessed 23 September 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Passaic County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Passaic County, New Jersey page 465, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.