To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Partington, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Partington, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PARTINGTON, a township, in the parish of Bowdon, union of Altrincham, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, 5 miles NW from Altrincham. There are places of worship for Calvinists and Independents. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Partington Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Partington St Mary Parish (1885) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1891-1901
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1891-1910
  NONE

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Bishop's transcripts for Partington, 1891-1910 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 168

Bishops Transcripts: Partington
Film
Baptisms, burials, 1891-1902, baptisms, 1903-1906, burials, 1903-1906, baptisms, 1906-1910, burials, 1906-1910.
1647669 Item 2


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Roman Catholic
  • Independent
  • Methodist

Non-Conformists Church Records:

Church records, 1826-1837 Independent Church (Partington, England) RG-4 series no. 93.

Church records for the Gatley Congregational Church Film
Baptisms and births, 1826-1837
20045 Item 17

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Altrincham (1837-98)
  • Bucklow (1898-1974)
  • Trafford [Greater Manchester] (1974+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Altrincham (1836-95)
  • Bucklow (1895-1930)

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 535-537. Date accessed: 24 January 2014.


Bibliography[edit | edit source]


FamilySearch