Papworth St. Agnes, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Papworth Agnes, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Papworth St. Agnes, Cambridgeshire|
|Poor Law Union||Caxton|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PAPWORTH ST. AGNES (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Caxton and Arrington, partly in the hundred of Toseland, county of Huntingdon, but chiefly in that of Papworth, county of Cambridge, 4 miles (S. S. E.) from Huntingdon.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Papworth Agnes parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Papworth Agnes Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs||1558-1878||1558-1878||1558-1878|
|FS Catalog BTs||1599-1841||1599-1841||1599-1841|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Papworth Agnes on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Date accessed: 20 August 2013.