Panola County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Panola County

Guide to Panola County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Batesville and Sardis
Organized: 1 March 1836
Parent County(s): the Chickasaw Cesson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Lafayette  • Quitman  • Tallahatchie  • Tate  • Tunica  • Yalobusha
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiPanolaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Panola County.svg.png
Adoption
Panola County Courthouse District 2

County Information

Description

This county was named from the word "polono" which means thread or cotton. Panola County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Panola County Courthouse District 1
215 S Pocahonatas St
Sardis, MS 38666
Phone: 662-487-2073
Fax: 662-487-3595

Panola County Courthouse District 2
151 Public Square
Batesville, MS 38606-2220
Phone: 601-563-6205

Panola County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has divorce and probate records from 1836.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1885 and court records from 1836.[3]

Panola County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1871 1 Nov 1912 1836 1836 1836 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss

1886 Some records were lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1836 Panola County was created 1 March 1836 from Monroe, Washington, and Non-County Area 12 attached to Tallahatchie.
  • County seat: Batesville and Sardis[5]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Panola County, Mississippi:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Panola County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Panola County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Episcopal
Holy Innocents Parish, Como

Methodist
Davis Chapel, Methodist Episcopal

  • 1881-1920, 1940-1944 Davis Chapel, Methodist Episcopal Baptism Index 1881-1920, 1940-1944. Batch C714281 at FamilySearch

Methodist Episcopal Church, Como

  • 1879-1885 Methodist Episcopal Church, Como, Baptism Index 1879-1885. Batch C714311 at FamilySearch
  • 1880-1895 Methodist Episcopal Church, Como, Marriage Index 1880-1895. Batch M714311 at FamilySearch
  • 1880-1900 Methodist Episcopal Church, Como, Death Index 1880-1900. Batch B714311 at FamilySearch

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Panola County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Tunica CountyTate CountyLafayette CountyYalobusha CountyTallahatchie CountyQuitman CountyMS PANOLA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Panola County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Panola County:

- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company C - Panola Cavalry
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Johnston's)
Company E - Pleasant Mount Rifles
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans (Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s)
Company H - Ballentine’s Guards
Company K - Jernigan’s Company
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company D - Senatobia Opposers
- 5th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company H - Hill’s Company
- 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's)
Company H - Morris’ Company
- 8th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry (formerly 19th Battalion Mississippi Cavalry (Duff's))
Company H - Morris’ Company
- 9th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company H - Panola Guards
Company I - Senatobia Invincibles, aka Invincibles
- 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company E - Sardis Blues (also listed as Co. F)

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Panola County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Panola County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

  • 1879-1880 Panola County Birth Index 1879-1880. Batch C749877 at FamilySearch
  • 1879-1942 Panola County Birth Index 1879-1942. Batch C714295 at FamilySearch

Marriage

Death

  • Estates, wills, divorce cases (Panola County, Mississippi), 1880-1950 Mississippi, Probate Records are available online. Microfilm of original records at the Panola County Courthouse in Batesville, Mississippi. The Panola Chancery Court is in the 2nd Court District. Arranged by case number. Estates, wills, and divorces are filed together. Beginning with case number 1601 all files cover divorces.

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Historical & Genealogical Society of Panola County
    105 Church Street
    Batesville, MS 38606

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Panola, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panola_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Panola County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.