Panama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Panamá)
Jump to: navigation, search
Panama Wiki Topics
Panama Flag.PNG
Beginning Research
Record Types
Panama Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Panama is Anelson
Central America
Panama
Guide to Panama ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records

Country Information

Panama is a country in Central America bordered by Costa Rica and Colombia. Panama is an isthmus that connects North and South America and is also considered a Caribbean nation. Vasco Nunez de Balboa discovered the Pacific ocean off the coast of Panama in 1513. Its strategic geographical location has made it a center of commerce and transportation since Spanish colonial times. After its independence from Spain in 1821, Panama became a department of Colombia until 1903 when the United States began building the Panama Canal and created the Panama Canal Zone, a major navigation hub. The official language is Spanish.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Panama Research

Links to articles on getting started with Panama research.

Panama Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Panama research.


{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Panama Map

Bocas del ToroChiriquiNgabe-BugleVeraguasHerreraLos SantosColonCoclePanama OestePanamaMadugandiMadugandiWargandiEmbera WounaanEmbera WounaanPanama provinces map.png
About this image


Jurisdictions

Provinces

Provincial Territories

  • Embera, see Darién Province
  • Guna Yala, see Panamá and Colón
  • Ngobe-Bugle, created in 1997 from parts of Bocas del Toro, Chiriquí, and Veraguas

Sub-Provincial Territories

  • Madugandí (within Panamá province)
  • Wargandí (within Darién province)

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

Research Tutorials

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Panama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panama, accessed 28 March 2016.