Page County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Page County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Page County, Iowa|
Location in the state of Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Getting Started
- 4.2 Research Guides
- 4.3 African American
- 4.4 Biographies
- 4.5 Cemeteries
- 4.6 Census
- 4.7 Church
- 4.8 Court
- 4.9 Genealogy
- 4.10 Land
- 4.11 Law and Legislation
- 4.12 Local Histories
- 4.13 Maps
- 4.14 Military
- 4.15 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 4.16 Newspapers
- 4.17 Occupations
- 4.18 Obituaries
- 4.19 Periodicals
- 4.20 Prisions
- 4.21 Probate
- 4.22 Taxation
- 4.23 Vital Records
- 5 Family History Centers
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Captain John Page of the 4th U.S. Infantry, who was mortally wounded in the Battle of Palo Alto. The County has Clarinda as its seat and the County was created February 24, 1847. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.
History[edit | edit source]
- Page County, Iowa is named in honor of Captain John Page of the 4th U.S. Infantry, who was mortally wounded in the battle of Palo Alto during the Mexican American War.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1847--Page County was created 24 February 1847 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Appanoose County prior to organization 22 March 1852. County seat: Clarinda 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1858 The courthouse and the records were destroyed by fire.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill. Online at: Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle. Online at: Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- African American Museum of Iowa The heritage of African Americans in Iowa
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Family Biographies from The History of Page County, Iowa (1880) published by Iowa Historical Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.
- Biographical history of Page County, Iowa : containing portraits of all the presidents of the United States from Washington to at Ancestry.com ($)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|IAGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.|
- Iowa WPA Gravestone Project -- Nice name index for many cemeteries in Iowa
- Rose Hill Cemetery ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1895 - Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1915 - Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1925 - Iowa State Census. 1925 at FamilySearch — index and images
- An article about the Federal and State Census Records that exist for Iowa. Iowa Census
Church[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- Iowa Page County Recorder's Office has property and misc. records dating back to 1838. Genealogy research is not performed by the Page County Recorder’s office. However, this office has land and vital records that are open to the public.
- 1839 - 1875 Land Abstracts Andreas Plat Book 1900 ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Law and Legislation[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Page County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.
- Page County history, Iowa at Ancestry.com ($)
- Biographical history of Page County, Iowa: Chicago: Lewis & Dunbar, 1890. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust.
- History of Page County, Iowa: also biographical sketches of some prominent citizens of the county. By W. L. Kershaw. Chicago, Illinois : S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1909. Online at: Vol.1 FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Google Books, Vol. 2 FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Page County, Iowa: containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, etc., a biographical directory, war record, history of Iowa. Reprint of 1880 edition published by the Iowa Historical Co., Des Moines. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Hathitrust.
- The history of Page County, Iowa: from the earliest settlement, in 1843, to the first centennial of American independence, July 4, 1876, including a period of thirty-three years. By E. Miller. Clarinda, Iowa : Herald Book & Job Office, 1876. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Iowa
-  David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures. This Collection features the city of Shenandoah.
- Map of 1905 Page County, Iowa
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1835-1998 - Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1949 - Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1862-1910 - Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — index
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Page County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Page County, Iowa Genealogy:
- - 4th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- - 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- - 23rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 1st Iowa Regiment Cavalry ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
World War II[edit | edit source]
- WWII Honor Roll of Dead and Missing ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1859-1990 - United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Page County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Occupations[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Page County Obituaries ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Prisions[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Adair - Probate records.
- A Family Search article about the Probate Records that exist for Iowa. Iowa Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.
Births[edit | edit source]
- 1830-1950 - Iowa Births and Christenings 1830-1950 at FamilySearch
- 1850-1939 - Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1880-1935 - Iowa, County Births 1880-1935 at FamilySearch
- 1921-1942 - Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
Marriages[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 - Iowa, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1809-1992 - Iowa Marriages 1808-1992 at FamilySearch - Index
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1838-1934 - Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 - Iowa, Deaths and Burials 1850-1990 at FamilySearch
- 1880-1992 - Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — index
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1904-1951 - Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry.com ($) — index and images
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Shenandoah Iowa Family History Center 507 E Pioneer Ave Shenandoah, Ia 51601 Phone:1-712-246-4491 Hours T 1pm-4pm; W 7pm-9pm; Th 10am-3pm.; Closures: Closed the last two weeks in December.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Greater Shenandoah Historical Society
800 W Sheridan Ave
PO Box 182
Shenandoah Iowa 56101
Lied Public Library
100 E. Garfield St.
Clarinda, Iowa 51632
Monday: 12pm-8pm;Tues-Thur: 9:30am-6pm; Fri: 9:30am-5:00pm; Sat: 9:30am-1pm; Sun: Closed
Websites[edit | edit source]
| Check back often with these websites. Internet offerings are growing at record rates.
Local societies and libraries may know of other websites.
|State Historical Society of Iowa||Free||Select from research collection topics|
|The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection||Free||digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "page county" in the search box|
|State Library of Iowa||Free||electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "page county" in the search box|
|IAGenWeb||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions|
|SFB Family Research||$$$||Local resident with access to the courthouse and the records there|
|USGenWeb Archives||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|genealogytrails.com||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions|
|  FamilySearch||Free||Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes|
|RootsWeb Resources||Free||Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions|
|Linkpendium||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|CyndisList||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|Page County (ldsgenealogy.com)||Free||Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)|
|StateofUS.com||Free||family history resources and government records|
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
|FamilySearch Catalog||Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.|
|WorldCat||To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.|
|Allen County Public Library||located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.|
|GeneaBloggers||enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs|
|list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search|
|genealogy.com||IA Genealogy Forum|
|ancestry.com||Page County Message Board|
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Page, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Page_County,_Iowa."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Page County, Iowa. Page 230-238 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 222-225.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Page County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Page_County,_Iowa#Communities, accessed 21 October 2019.