Padworth, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Padworth

Guide to Padworth, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Padworth, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Theale
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Bradfield
Registration District Bradfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1693-1705 (some); 1724
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

PADWORTH (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Bradfield, hundred of Theale, county of Berks, 10 miles (S. W. by W.) from Reading.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Padworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Berkshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Padworth Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1607-1723
1618-1838
1607-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


IGI 1772-1812, 1814-1859
1755-1812


FS Catalog PRs
1693-1980
1693-1980
1693-1980
FS Catalog BTs
1607-1836
1607-1836
1607-1836

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Padworth in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 525-530. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk