Ozaukee County, Wisconsin Genealogy
Guide to Ozaukee County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Outagamie County, Wisconsin|
Location in the state of Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
|County Seat||Port Washington|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Bible Records
- 5.2 Biography
- 5.3 Cemeteries
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church History and Records
- 5.6 Court Records
- 5.7 Crime and Criminals
- 5.8 Directories
- 5.9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 5.10 Gazetteers
- 5.11 Genealogy
- 5.12 History
- 5.13 Land and Property
- 5.14 Maps
- 5.15 Migration
- 5.16 Military History and Records
- 5.17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.18 Newspapers
- 5.19 Obituaries
- 5.20 Periodicals
- 5.21 Probate Records
- 5.22 Repositories
- 5.23 Societies
- 5.24 Taxation
- 5.25 Vital Records
- 5.26 Voting Registers
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Ozaukee County, Wisconsin Record Dates
Ozaukee County Courthouse
121 W Main Street; PO Box 994;
Port Washington, WI 53074
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, and land records from 1853;
Clerk of Circuit Courts has divorce, probate and court records;
County Treasurer has tax rolls from 1851 
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
- 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
- 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
- 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census. Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
- 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
- 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
- 1905 - 1905 State Census for Ozaukee County Put in the surname, year of census, and county/state. Ancestry/RootsWeb
- 1850 - 1850 Washington County Census WIGenWeb project. Washington was the parent county of Ozaukee.
Church History and Records
- Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Cedarburg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Crime and Criminals
- Krause's Ozaukee County 1900 Directory WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
- Ozaukee County Residential - Rural Classified Directory - 1923-24 WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
- Washington-Ozaukee County Farm Directory - 1933 WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
- Washington-Ozaukee County Directory - 1938-39 WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Land and Property
- Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Ozaukee County USGenWeb Archives
Military History and Records
- Official War History of Ozaukee County, Wisconsin by R. B. Pixley (Port Washington, WI: Ozaukee County War History Committee, 1919) (digitized book)
- Civil War Rosters, Ozaukee County, Wisconsin USGenWeb Archives
- Men Who Enlisted in Ozaukee County WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
- 1883 List of Pensioners for Ozaukee County WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
- 1890 Veteran's Schedule WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
World War I
- Ozaukee County in World War I WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
World War II
- Ozaukee County in World War II WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Ozaukee County Newspapers WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
- Ozaukee County Wills WIGenWeb project hosted by RootsWeb
- 1800 – 1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry.com — images and index $
- 1848 – 1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
- Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Ozaukee County Historical Society
Port Washington Historical Society Research Center
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Ozaukee County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Ozaukee County GenWeb
- Ozaukee County USGenWeb Archives
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Pepin Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).