Ozaukee County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ozaukee County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Ozaukee County


Guide to Ozaukee County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Port Washington
Organized: March 7, 1853
Parent County(s): Washington County[1]
Neighboring Counties
Milwaukee  • Sheboygan  • Washington  • Waukesha
See County Maps
Courthouse
OldOzaukeeCourthouseWI.jpg
Location Map
WI Ozaukee.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the word which probably means "people living at the mouth of a river." The County has Port Washington as its seat and the County was created 1853. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Ozaukee County Courthouse
121 W Main Street
PO Box 994
Port Washington, WI 53074
Phone: 262-284-8100
Ozaukee County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, and land records from 1853.
Clerk of Circuit Courts has divorce, probate and court records.
County Treasurer has tax rolls from 1851. [3]

Ozaukee County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1853 1853 1853 1853 1849 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1853--Ozaukee County was created 7 March 1853 from Washington County.
  • County seat: Port Washington[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Ozaukee County, Wisconsin:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Ozaukee County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 15,682
1870 15,564 −0.8%
1880 15,461 −0.7%
1890 14,943 −3.4%
1900 16,363 9.5%
1910 17,123 4.6%
1920 16,335 −4.6%
1930 17,394 6.5%
1940 18,985 9.1%
1950 23,361 23.0%
1960 38,441 64.6%
1970 54,421 41.6%
1980 66,981 23.1%
1990 72,831 8.7%
2000 82,317 13.0%
2010 86,395 5.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Ozaukee census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
  • 1905 - 1905 State Census for Ozaukee County Put in the surname, year of census, and county/state. RootsWeb
  • 1850 - [sites.rootsweb.com/~wiozauke/census.html 1850 Washington County Census] WIGenWeb project. Washington was the parent county of Ozaukee.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Cedarburg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Germans
Records to search: Archives, Libraries, and Museums; Biographies; Church Records; Cemetery Records; Court Records; Histories; Immigration/emigration/migration; Maps; Newspapers; Societies

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI OZAUKEE.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Ozaukee served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ozaukee:

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Ozaukee Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Ozaukee Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Area Research Center - University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
    Milwaukee, Division of Archives and Special Collections
    Golda Meir Library, Room W250
    2311 East Hartford Avenue
    PO Box 604
    Milwaukee, WI 53201-0604
    Phone: 414-229-5402
    Email: askarch@uwm.edu
    Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Golda Meir Library - University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    Area Research Center, Milwaukee, Division of Archives and Special Collections
    Golda Meir Library, Room W250
    2311 East Hartford Avenue
    PO Box 604
    Milwaukee, WI 53201-0604
    Phone: 414-229-5402
    Email: askarch@uwm.edu
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Ozaukee County Historical Society
    PO Box 206
    Cedarburg, WI 53012
    Website
  • Mequon Historical Society
    6100 West Mequon Road 112N
    Mequon, WI 53092
    Phone: 262-242-3107
    Email: dondorf@execpc.com
    Website
  • Port Washington Historical Society
    PO Box 491
    205 N. Franklin St.
    Port Washington, WI 53074
    Phone: 262-268-9150
    Email:portwashhistorical@yahoo.com
    Website
  • Saukville Area Historical Society
    200 N Mill Street
    Saukville, WI 53080
    Phone: 262-268-9197
    Email: saha@artin.org
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Ozaukee County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ozaukee_County,_Wisconsin#History."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ozaukee County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Ozaukee County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ozaukee_County,_Wisconsin, accessed 24 September 2018.