Ozark County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Ozark County

Guide to Ozark County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Ozark County, Missouri
Map
Map of Missouri highlighting Ozark County
Location in the state of Missouri
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1841
County Seat Gainesville
Courthouse
MissouriOzarkCourthouse.jpg
Address Ozark County Courthouse
PO Box 416;
Gainesville, MO 65655-0416;
Phone: 417.6798.3516
Ozark County Website


County Information

Ozark County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1884 1858 1887 1850 1858 1865

County Courthouse


Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage, divorce and court records; County Clerk has County Community minutes; Probate Court has probate records; Recorder of Deeds has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

1841 Ozark County was created 29 January 1841 from Taney county. The name was changed to Decatur in 1843 and back to Ozark in 1845. County seat: Gainesville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1858 or 1859 Courthouse destroyed by fire; all early records were destroyed.
1864 Courthouse destroyed by fire before February 1864; some records were lost.
1934 Courthouse destroyed by fire November 28, 1934.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Baxter County, Arkansas  • Douglas  • Fulton County, Arkansas  • Howell  • Marion County, Arkansas  • Taney

Ozark CountyDouglas CountyHowell CountyOregon CountyShannon CountyWright CountyWebster CountyTexas CountyGreene CountyStone CountySharp CountyIzard CountyBoone CountyBaxter CountyMarion CountyCarroll CountyNewton CountyTaney CountyFulton CountyChristian CountySearcy CountyStone CountySharp CountyMadison CountyIndependence CountyIzard CountyMOOzark.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOInterment
MOGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Ozark County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Brown, Omer E. Son of pioneers : "recollections of an Ozaks lawyer". Point Lookout, Missouri : O.E. Brown family, c1973.
  • The Ozark region, its history and its people. Springfield, Missouri : Interstate Historical Society, 1917.

Maps

Moozark.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regimients

Service men in Ozark County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ozark County, Missouri:

- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company H
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ozark County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Historical Society

  • Ozark County Genealogical and Historical Society/
    Ozark County Historium
    PO Box 4
    Gainesville, MO 65655
    Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Ozark County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Ozark County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Ozark Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Ozark County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Ozark County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Ozark County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ozark County, Missouri. Page 404 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.