Oxton, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Oxton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Introduction[edit | edit source]
Oxton is a suburb of Birkenhead, on the Wirral Peninsula, Merseyside, England. Administratively it is a ward of the Metropolitan Borough of Wirral. Originally a village in its own right, it became part of the Municipal Borough of Birkenhead upon its creation in 1877. Before local government reorganisation on 1 April 1974, it was part of the County Borough of Birkenhead, within the county of Cheshire.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
OXTON, a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Woodchurch parish, Cheshire. The village stands 2 miles W of Birkenhead r. station, and has a post-office‡under Birkenhead. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Oxton Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Oxton St Saviour (1865) Online Records|
Formerly a chapelry in Woodchurch parish, made a parish in 1865.
Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. The parish church of S. Savior, Oxton
|Parish Registers: Oxton||Book and Film|
|Also on microfilm. Salt Lake City: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1985. on 1 microfilm reel; 35 mm.
||994067 Item 9|
Bishop's transcripts for St. Saviour's Church, Oxton, 1851-1896
|Bishops Transcripts: Oxton
|Baptisms, 1851-1854, 1876-1892.
||1647668 Item 5|
||1647669 Item 1|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Roman Catholic
Non-Conformists Church Records:
Palm Grove Chapel (Oxton Wesleyan Methodist) Church Records 1858-1887; Cheshire Record Office: EMS 139/13.
|Church Records for Palm Grove Chapel Wesleyan Methodist Church
|Baptisms 1858-1880, 1887
1594191 Item 3
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Wirral (1837-61)
- Birkenhead (1861-98)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- Wirral (1836-1861)
- Birkenhead (1861-98)
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Date accessed: 24th January 2014.
Bibliography[edit | edit source]