Oxfordshire Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Oxfordshire Wiki Topics
Flag of Oxfordshire.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Oxfordshire Background
Local Research Resources
England
Oxfordshire
Archives and Libraries

Record Office

Oxfordshire History Centre

Oxfordshire History Centre (In July 2011 the former Oxfordshire Record Office, Oxfordshire Studies (formerly in Oxford's Central Library), and the Oxfordshire Health Archives (formerly at the Warneford Hospital) were merged into one comprehensive history service and renamed Oxfordshire History Centre.
St. Luke’s Church
Temple Road
Cowley, Oxford OX4 2HT UK
Telephone: 01865 398 200
Email: oxhist@oxfordshire.gov.uk
Website: Oxfordshire History Centre
Catalogues: Oxfordshire History Centre Catalogues

Oxford History Centre is in a converted Church of England church on the outskirts of Oxford. It is home to Oxfordshire County's archives and local studies collections. Oxfordshire Health Archives (see below) is also based there.

Archives

Oxfordshire Health Archives

Oxfordshire Health Archives
Oxfordshire History Centre
St. Luke’s Church
Temple Road
Cowley, Oxford OX4 2HT UK
Telephone: 01865 398 243
Email: archives@oxfordhealth.nhs.uk
Website: Health Archives

Oxfordshire Health Archives, hosted by Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust and Oxfordshire County Council, selects and cares for the historic archives of NHS hospitals in Oxfordshire. The archives in our care include those of Oxfordshire hospitals and NHS administrative bodies, Leagues of Friends and Nurses' Alumni organizations. In addition, we provide advice to NHS staff on the management, care and disposal of recent records.
We also answer enquiries from those unable to visit in person. Copies of our material are available; a charge is usually made for this service.

Libraries

Oxford Central Library

Oxford Central Library
Westgate, Oxford OX1 1DJ UK
Telephone (General enquiries): 01865 815 509 and 01865 815 549
Telephone (Information and reference enquiries): 01865 815 409
Email: oxfordcentral.library@oxfordshire.gov.uk
Website: Oxford Central Library

Due to the Westgate Development the library has moved to a smaller temporary, location in the Castle Quarter, offering a limited number of services until October 2017. Comprehensive facilities for local and family history research are available at Oxfordshire History Centre.

Museums

For a long list of Oxfordshire museums, go to List of museums in Oxfordshire in Wikipedia.

Collections

Picture Oxon

Picture Oxon
Oxfordshire History Centre
St. Luke’s Church
Temple Road
Cowley, Oxford OX4 2HT UK
Telephone: 01865 398 200
Email: oxhist@oxfordshire.gov.uk
Website: Pictureoxon

As well as original records, maps, newspapers, and books on the history of Oxfordshire, the Images and Voices collection includes illustrations, photographs and oral history recordings. The centre has some excellent indexes and transcripts of most parish registers throughout the county.