Oxford St Aldate, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Oxfordshire
Oxfordshire Parishes
Oxford St Aldate


Guide to Oxford St Aldate, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Oxford St Aldate, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hormer; Oxford
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Oxford
Registration District Oxford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oxford
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

St Aldgate, Oxford (City) stood within the limits of both the county of (mostly) Oxfordshire and Berkshire. The ecclesiastical chapel of St. Aldate, Oxford itself, also stood partly in Oxfordshire and partly in Berkshire. It was a parochial chapel in that it possessed ecclesiastical jurisdiction over the chapelry of Christ Church, Oxford (which see), and also was part of the parish of North Hinksey (which also see), in Berkshire. The parish of St Aldate contained within its boundary, Pembroke College as well.

Oxford, was a parliamentary and municipal borough, city, a large market town, and the county town of Oxfordshire, between the rivers Cherwell and Thames, or Isis, and 27 miles northwest of Reading.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Oxford St Aldate parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Oxford St Aldate Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1917
1538-1931
1538-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1541-1816, 1837-1846
1541-1837
1564-1833
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers of Oxford St Aldgate commence in the year 1538 and are searchable at:

Oxford County Record Office
St Luke's Church
Cowley
Oxford OX4 2EX
United Kingdom

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Oxford St Aldate in GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted. Accessed: 17 Apr 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk