Oxford Cathedral, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Oxford Cathedral, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Oxford Cathedral, Oxfordshire
Downloaded3860909497608820135 OxfordCathedral+from+Meadow+Walk.jpg
Type Cathedral
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oxford
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Not Applicable
Registration District Oxford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1633
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Oxford Cathedral is the seat of the Diocese of Oxford. It is located in the county of Oxfordshire. Contiguous parishes are Oxford St Clement, Oxford All Saints, Oxford St John the Baptist, Oxford St Aldate, Oxford St Peter in the East, and Oxford St Mary the Virgin. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Oxford Cathedral parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Oxfordshire, England, Church of England Baptism, Marriages, and Burials, 1633-1939 Ancestry.com - ($)
FMP = Oxfordshire Marriage Bonds 1644-1849 (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1633-1837 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - ($) Results delivered by email.
CHRIST CHURCH OXFORD CATHEDRAL (1633) Online Church Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS

None
ANC 1633-1915 1633-1915 1642-1754; 1865-1930
1644-1939 1644-1939
FMP

1634-1849


BOYD

1642-1837


IGI Part.
Part.

Part.

FS Catalog BTs

1644-1882
OFHS 1633-1900s
1644-1900s
1644-1900s

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Oxfordshire History Centre.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Christ Church Cathedral Oxford Interior.png


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk