Owslebury, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Owslebury, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Winchester|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1708|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Twyford with Owlesbury and Brambridge; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish HistoryOWSLEBURY (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Winchester, hundred of Fawley, Winchester and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4½ miles (S. S. E.) from Winchester. The old road from Winchester to Bishop's-Waltham, by Morestead and Stephen's-Castle Down, traverses the eastern part of the parish. This parish previous to 1832 was annexed with the parish of Twyford; and an additional church has been built on Colden Common, to which a district is assigned.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Owslebury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|OWSLEBURY PARISH (1678) Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 500-503. Adapted. Date accessed: 08 July 2013.
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
- 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.