Owen County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Owen County, Kentucky)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Owen County

Guide to Owen County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Owenton
Organized: February 6, 1819
Parent County(s): Scott, Franklin, Gallatin[1]
Neighboring Counties
Carroll  • Franklin  • Gallatin  • Grant  • Henry  • Scott
See County Maps
Courthouse
Owen County Courthouse, Owenton, KY
Location Map
Ky-owen.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The County was named for Abraham Owen. The County has Owenton as its seat and the County was created 1819. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Owen County Courthouse
Madison & Seminary Street
PO Box 338
Owenton, KY 40359
Phone: 502-484-2213[3]
Owen County Website

Owen County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1911 1819 1911 1819 1819 1819 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Beechwood
  • Bradleyville (hist.)
  • Breck
  • Bromley
  • Canby
  • Cull
  • Eagle Hill
  • Fairbanks
  • Hallam
  • Harmony
  • Hensley Ford
  • Hesler
  • Holiday Ford
  • Long Ridge
  • Mountain Island
  • Moxley
  • Natlee
  • Needmore
  • New
  • New Columbus
  • New Liberty
  • Perry Park
  • Pleasant Home
  • Poplar Grove
  • Rockdale
  • Squiresville
  • Sweet Owen
  • Tacketts Mill
  • Teresita
  • Truesville (hist.)
  • Wheatley


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Owen, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Owen county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1820 2,031
1830 5,786 184.9%
1840 8,232 42.3%
1850 10,444 26.9%
1860 12,719 21.8%
1870 14,309 12.5%
1880 17,401 21.6%
1890 17,676 1.6%
1900 17,553 −0.7%
1910 14,248 −18.8%
1920 12,554 −11.9%
1930 10,710 −14.7%
1940 10,942 2.2%
1950 9,755 −10.8%
1960 8,237 −15.6%
1970 7,470 −9.3%
1980 8,924 19.5%
1990 9,035 1.2%
2000 10,547 16.7%
2010 10,841 2.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Owen County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Adams] Miller, Lynne D. Owen County, Kentucky Families. Lincolnton, N.C.: L.D. Miller, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 Ad13m
  • [Cobb] Morgan, Edgar L. and Mariam S. Houchens. The Cobbs of Owen County, Kentucky. Louisville, Ky.: E.L. Morgan & M.S. Houchens, 1961. FHL Book 929.273 C633m
  • [Glass] McMurtry, Zelma Garrison McCord. William Glass of Virginia and Kentucky and His Descendants of Scott and Owen Counties, Kentucky. Lexington, Ky.: n.p., 1975. FHL Film 1598394 Item 2
  • [Hammon] Hammon, Stratton Owen. The Saga of John Hammon, Revolutionary War Hero and Owen County, Kentucky Pioneer. Louisville, Ky.: The Pilgrim Press, 1979. FHL Book 921.73 H184h
  • [Shipp] Sanders, Walter R. The Shipp Genealogy from Essex, Caroline, Fa[u]quier Counties, Virginia, to Green, Taylor, Woodford, Jefferson, Fayette, Christian, Bourbon, Scott, Owen, Counties, Kentucky, and Johnson Counties, Indiana. Typescript. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Book 929.273 Sh64s; FHL Film 875372 Item 5

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Owen County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Carroll CountyGallatin CountyGrant CountyScott CountyFranklin CountyShelby CountyHenry CountyKY OWEN.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Owen County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Company B.
- Fields' Company, Kentucky Partisan Rangers (Confederate), Company B.
- 3rd Battalion, Kentucky Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Company E.
- Jenkins' Company, Kentucky Cavalry (Confederate), Company A.

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Owen County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Owen County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Owen County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Owen County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Owen County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Owen County Public Library
    118 North Main Street
    Owenton, KY 40359
    Telephone: 502-484-3450

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Owen County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Owen_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Owen County, Kentucky page 274, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Owen County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Owen County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Owen_County,_Kentucky, accessed 7 September 2018.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Owen_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3339100"