Ovanåker parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ovanåker parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Gävleborg County
Ovanåker


Guide to Ovanåker Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Ovanåker
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift
Pastorat 1639-1759 Ovanåker, 1759-1775 Ovanåker och Voxna, 1775-10-24-1972 Ovanåker, 1973- Ovanåker och Voxna
Län -1762 Västernorrland, 1762- Gävleborg
Landskap Hälsingland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1876 Alfta, 1877-1906 Södra Hälsinglands västra, 1907-1970 Bollnäs domsagas
Domsaga -1770 Hälsingland, 1771-1906 Hälsinglands södra, 1907-1970 Bollnäs
Fögderi -1917 Södra Hälsingland
Kommun 1863- Ovanåker
Militär indelning Helsinge Regemente
Nya Ordin. Soldat-Roteringen
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
Alfta Kompani
NAD Ref Code SE/HLA/1010152


Place Names

Bjursjöberg, Blommaberg, Blommaåsen, Bjursjömyra, Böle,
Edsbyn,
Faran,
Gropabo, Gropakull, Gråsäter,
Homna, Hässjöberg, Höjen,
Kallberg, Klitten, Klon, Knåda, Knonoallmänningen, Kyan, Kyrkbyn,
Lekstrand, Lobo södra, Lobonäs,
Mannsjön, Mattsmyra, Mjölåsen, Målaberg,
Nybo, Näverberget,
Prästgården,
Qvarnberg,
Roteberg, Räka,
Samuelsfallet, Skräddarbo, Strandkilarne, Stugusjö, Stuguslott, Svensbo,
Thorsberg,
Ullungs kvarn,
Werosbacken, Wiktjärn, Wängsbo,
Älgnäs, Ämnebo,
Öjung, Öratjärn, Östanå, Överbo.


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Gävleborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Gävleborg" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Ovanåker parish, Husförhörslängd AI:13 1828-1838, Ort register.

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Ovanåker Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2015 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/