Outagamie County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Outagamie County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Outagamie County

Guide to Outagamie County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Appleton
Organized: February 17, 1851
Parent County(s): Brown and Winnebago Counties[1]
Neighboring Counties
Brown  • Calumet  • Shawano  • Waupaca  • Winnebago
See County Maps
Courthouse
Outagamie County Wisconsin Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
WI Outagamie.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the historic Meskwaki (Fox) Indians. The County has Appleton as its seat and the County was created 1852. The County is located in the east central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Outagamie County Courthouse
410 S Walnut Street
Appleton, WI 54911
Phone: 920-832-5077
Outagamie County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death records from 1852.
Clerk of Circuit Courts has divorce, court records from 1855.
Register in Probate has probate records from 1855.[3]

Outagamie County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1852 1852 1855 1851 1855 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1851--Outagamie County was created 17 February 1851 from Brown and Winnebago Counties.
  • County seat: Appleton[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Outagamie County, Wisconsin:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Native American communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Outagamie County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

For tips on accessing Outagamie census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Outagamie County (USGenWeb Archives)

Surnames A-C
Surnames D-G
Surnames H-K
Surnames L-O
Surnames P-S
Surnames T-Z


A wiki article describing an online collection is found at: Wisconsin, Outagamie County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI OUTAGAMIE.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Outagamie served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Outagamie:

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies G and M
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company I
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company E

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

  • Appleton Public Library Obituary Index - Partial index to obituaries and death notices published in Appleton newspapers. There are complete records for 1853-71; 1874; 1920-22; 1939-42; 1944; 1948-52; 1958-1960; 1970; 1980; 1981; 1992-94, and January 1, 2001 to December 6, 2011. Some records from 1848; 1875; 1889; 1899; 1923; 1930; 1945; 1954; 1957; 1969; 1971-73; 1981; 1982; 1987; and 1991 have been indexed.
  • Outagamie County Obituaries USGenWeb Archives

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Outagamie Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Outagamie Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

  • Pre-1907 Births, Marriages and Deaths at Archives and Area Research Center, Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay - $, the research center will make a search

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Archives and Area Research Center
    Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
    2420 Nicolet Dr.
    Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
    Phone: 920-465-2539
    Email: archives@uwgb.edu
    Website
    Facebook

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
    Archives and Area Research Center
    2420 Nicolet Dr.
    Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
    Phone: 920-465-2539
    Email: archives@uwgb.edu
    Website
    Facebook

Museums

  • Outagamie County Historical Society
    330 E. College Ave.
    Appleton, WI 54911
    Phone: 920-735-9370
    Website

Societies

  • Fox Valley Genealogical Society
    PO Box 1592
    Appleton, WI 54913
    Website
  • Seymour Community Historical Society
    P. O. Box 237
    133 Depot St
    Seymour, WI 54165
    Phone: 920-833-9835
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Outagamie County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outagamie_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Outagamie County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Outagamie County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outagamie_County,_Wisconsin, accessed 24 September 2018.