Oulton St Michael, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Oulton St Michael, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search
Oulton St Michael


History

Oulton St Michael is an ancient parish in the Lothingland deanery of the Diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk.

It is possible to confuse this parish with Oulton, Norfolk

Church Records

Images of the parish registers for this parish are available at FamilySearch Historical Records

Norfolk Record office reference PD 508

PD 508/1
Title Baptisms, marriages and burials
Date 1564-1659

PD 508/2
Title Baptisms, 1659-1666, 1695-1722, 1729; marriages, 1659-1663, 1695-1703, 1710-1714, 1716, 1719; and burials, 1659-1663, 1695-1726.
Date 1659-1813

PD 508/3
Title Baptisms, 1723-1774; marriages, 1724-1754; burials
Date 1723-1774
PD 508/22
Title Burials
Date 1813-1886
Description With list of rectors and curates, 1813-1862.
There is a gap in deposited burial register from 1663-1695 in the original register. On close examination the original register has faint entry near the front about a new incumbent who arrived in the parish in 1667. The register is generally very untidy, with gaps left for no obvious reason, and  the incumbent from 1667 to 1695 apparently failed to make any entries during his time in office. Certainly lack of space in the register cannot have been a reason, as there are, if anything, more pages that are blank than have writing.

Microfilm originals are found in a single film with 12 items Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England. Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1987

Baptisms, 1564-1666, 1695-1901. Marriages, 1564-1663, 1695-1915. Banns, 1755-1822. Burials, 1564-1663, 1695-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 1526135 Items 1 - 12


Poor Law Unions

England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Registration Districts

  • Mutford

Probate Jurisdictions

Suffolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes L through Q

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851