To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Oughtrington, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Oughtrington, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

OUGHTRINGTON, a hamlet in Lymm parish, Cheshire, on the Bridgewater Canal, 5½ miles WSW of Altrincham. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Oughtrington registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's =FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Oughtrington St Peter Parish (1881) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1872-1909   NONE
1882-1934
  NONE
1872-1910
  NONE
FS BT's
1855-1898
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1855-1932
  NONE

Oughtrington was a hamlet in Lymm parish. Built in 1872 as a chapel to Lymm: St. Mary the Virgin, Parish for part of Lymm in 1881.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Parish registers of St. Peter's Church, Oughtrington, 1872-1938. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P237/4964/1-3, 5-7.

Parish Registers: Oughtrington Film
Burials, 1872-1874, baptisms, 1872-1874, 1873, 1875-1876, baptisms, burials, 1892-1899, 1901.
2149024 Items 1 - 6

Bishop's transcripts for St. Peter's Church, Oughtrington, 1872-1901. Cheshire Record Office: EDB 161

Bishops Transcripts: Oughtrington
Film
Baptisms, 1881-1891, 1893, 1892, 1894-1897, 1899.
1647668 Item 3
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Not Known

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Altrincham (1837-98)
  • Bucklow (1898-1974)
  • Warrington (1974+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Altrincham (1836-95)
  • Bucklow (1895-1930)

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Bibliography[edit | edit source]


FamilySearch