Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Ouachita County
 

Guide to Ouachita County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Camden
Organized: November 29, 1842
Parent County(s): Union[1]
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun  • Clark  • Columbia  • Dallas  • Nevada  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasOuachitaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-ouachita.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The county was named for the Ouachita River. The County Seat is Camden and was founded November 29, 1842.[2] It is located in the south central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Ouachita County Courthouse
145 Jackson Street
Camden, AR 71701
Phone: 870.837.2220
Ouachita County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1875;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[4]

Ouachita County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1875 1914* 1875 1869 1875 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

1875 All records were destroyed by a fire on December 19, 1875.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes

  • 1842--Ouachita County was created 29 November 1842 from Union County. 
  • County seat: Camden[6]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Behestian
  • Bradley (East Camden)
  • Bragg
  • Bridge Creek (Elliott)
  • Carroll
  • Cleveland
  • Ecore Fabre (most of Camden)
  • Freeo
  • Jefferson
  • Lafayette (small part of Camden)
  • Liberty
  • Marion


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Ouachita County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

  • 1803 - The county was inhabited by only a few hunters, trappers and traders at the time of the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1820s (late)-1830s (early) - The population of the area consisted of approximately 150 Choctaw, along with white settlers and slaves.
  • 1830s - As more white settlers came to the area, the French left, returning to New Orleans or moving farther west.
  • 1842 November 29 - Ouachita County was established.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Ouachita, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 9,591
1860 12,936 34.9%
1870 12,975 0.3%
1880 11,758 −9.4%
1890 17,033 44.9%
1900 20,892 22.7%
1910 21,774 4.2%
1920 20,636 −5.2%
1930 29,890 44.8%
1940 31,151 4.2%
1950 33,051 6.1%
1960 31,641 −4.3%
1970 30,896 −2.4%
1980 30,541 −1.1%
1990 30,574 0.1%
2000 28,790 −5.8%
2010 26,120 −9.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1876-1946 County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Guardian records 1876-1911; Letters of administration 1876-1922; Letters of testamentary 1876-1946; Probate record index 1876-1880; Probate records 1880-1890; Wills 1876-1901.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Clark CountyDallas CountyCalhoun CountyUnion CountyColumbia CountyNevada County250PX
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Ouachita County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Companies G and H
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 11th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dockery's) (Confederate)
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, D, F and K

Online Records

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Ouachita County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Ouachita County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/ouachita/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Ouachita County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ouachita_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ouachita County, Arkansas. Page 69 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 66.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Ouachita County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ouachita_County,_Arkansas, accessed 7 September 2018.
  8. Debbie Fenwick Ponder, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=795&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Ouachita County.”
  9. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.