Ottumwa Iowa Family History Center
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
- 1 Center Contacts and Hours
- 2 Calendar and Events
- 3 Center Resources
- 4 Databases and Software
- 5 Online Training
- 6 Center Services
- 7 Resources in the Local Area
- 8 Links
- 9 Volunteer at the Center
Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]
Location Map:[edit | edit source]
Address: 303 W Rochester, Ottumwa, IA 52501
- Language: English (Spanish assistance available by appointment)
Stake TFH Consultant - Center: Ken Duker 641-777-7936
- Tuesday: 1:00pm-6:00pm
- Wednesday: 6:00pm-7:00pm Spanish Language assistance
- Wednesday: 7:00pm-9:00pm
- Saturday: 10:00am-12:00pm
- Upon Request: call Stake TFH Consultant - Center
- Closed for General Conference, Stake Conferences:
- Closed the last two weeks of December.
Calendar and Events[edit | edit source]
Upcoming Events[edit | edit source]
Class Schedule[edit | edit source]
Talk to the Stake Temple and Family History Consultant - Center for a listing of class schedules. The current Stake Temple and Family History Consultant - Center is Ken Duker, 641-777-7936.
Staff Training Meetings[edit | edit source]
Center Resources[edit | edit source]
Collections[edit | edit source]
- Patrons' Microfiche Collection -- a collection of fiche ordered by our patrons, assorted titles. Contain family histories, vital records, and other types of information.
- Indefinite Film Collection -- a collection of films on a variety of subjects, to include vital records, county records, court records, etc.
- Book Collection: -- Dictionaries of many languages. Reference guides for areas worldwide. Head of Families (Early censuses).
Databases and Software[edit | edit source]
Description of some of the above databases[edit | edit source]
- Footnote Footnote is a subscription-based website that features searchable, original documents that provide users a view of the events, places and people that shaped the American nation and the world. The site will have over 25 million digital images by the end of 2007. Footnote is currently working with FamilySearch to index the American Revolutionary War Pension files. Additional projects with FamilySearch are under development.
- Individuals with Footnote subscriptions will be able to sign in with the same Footnote username and password they use at home in order to save, annotate, and upload content.
- Godfrey Memorial Library Godfrey Memorial Library has an extensive collection of essential
resources to assist genealogical and historical research. Resources include newspapers, city and business directories, vital records, printed census records, state, county, and local histories, as well as numerous family histories, family bible records, and service and pension records.
- Heritage Quest/ProQuest Heritage Quest online includes the complete set of U.S. Federal Census images from 1790 to 1930 including names and indexes for many of the sets. Users will be able to find people and places located in over 20,000 published family
and local histories and PERSI, an index of over 1.9 million genealogy and local history articles. Other online databases include Revolutionary War Pension, Bounty Land Warrant Application files, and the Freedman Bank Records.
- Access to this service will be limited to 1,400 family history centers in North America. Patrons should contact their local family history center to see if this service is available. Stake Temple and Family History Consultant - Center should contact Family History Center Support with questions.
- World Vital Records World Vital Records provides access to research helps and has a wide variety of international records, including more than 60 parish registers, Scottish death records, UK marriages, and Irish prisoner records. There are more than 300 newspapers with 100,000 pages added a month, and over 500 online databases, including vital, military, land, pension records, reference materials, family histories, maps, gazetteers, and international coops. With the recent Quintin Publications partnership, World Vital Records will soon have more than 10,000 databases online. At least one new database is added every business day.
Online Training[edit | edit source]
Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]
- 4 computers (internet access), printer, microfiche reader, microfilm readers and microfiche reader/microfilm scanner.
Center Services[edit | edit source]
Staff Research Specialties[edit | edit source]
Resources in the Local Area
[edit | edit source]
(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)
Links[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Research Wiki: What It Can Do For You!: A comprehensive video presentation explaining the Wiki, navigating it, and some especially useful pages. Case studies demonstrate using the Wiki for genealogical research. Editing and adding articles to the Wiki are covered.
Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]
If you are interested in volunteering either at the Center or your own home please contact the Stake Temple and Family History Consultant - Center.