Ottery St Mary, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Ottery St Mary, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ottery St Mary, Devon|
|Hundred||St Mary Ottery|
|Poor Law Union||Honiton|
|Parish registers: 1601|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
OTTERY ST. MARY, a market-town and parish, constituting the hundred of Ottery St. Mary, in the union of Honiton, Woodbury and S. divisions of Devon, 11 miles (E. by N.) from Exeter, and 161 (W. S. W.) from London. This place derives its name from its situation on the river Otter, and from the dedication of its church to the Blessed Virgin. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.
Ottery St Mary began as a Saxon settlement. The origins of the name 'Ottery' are debated: some say that it is taken from the River Otter, others that it is from the manor house occupied by the Canons of Rouen (1061-1337), named 'Otrei', and appearing in the Domesday Book of 1086. 'Oteri Sancte Marie' is first mentioned in 1242, with the 'St Mary' added to honour the church of St Mary. The church houses the Astronomical Clock, one of the oldest mechanical clocks in the country.
Ottery St Mary featured in the English Civil War, especially in 1645 when it became a garrison town, and was visited by Oliver Cromwell. Romantic poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge was born in Ottery St Mary, and author William Makepeace Thackeray refers to the town in some of his works.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ottery St Mary, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|OTTERY ST MARY PARISH (1601) Online Records|
Ottery St Mary parish registers are held in the Devon Record Office and begin in 1601.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
- 1700 - transcript of list of householders held at GENUKI site
- 1841 - transcription in progress (to be held on FreeCEN site)
- 1861 - held at FreeCEN site and searchable (use Piece No 1378)
- 1881 - searchable on FamilySearch site
- 1891 - held at FreeCEN site and searchable (use Piece No 1672)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Online Parish Clerk[edit | edit source]
Devon Online Parish Clerks is a resource of volunteers willing to provide free look-ups and research within the County of Devon. The Online Parish Clerk for Ottery St Mary maintains a website at  with transcripts and links to nonconformist records, trade directories, and census records.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Ottery St Mary on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 26 July 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.