To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ottawa County, Ohio)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ottawa County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Ottawa County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Ottawa County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Ottawa County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Ottawa County Courthouse
315 Madison St.
Port Clinton, Ohio 43452-1993
Ottawa County Website


Ottawa County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1840 1867 1840 1820 1840 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Erie, Lucas, and Sandusky Counties 6 March 1840.[2]
  • County Seat: Port Clinton

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named either for the Ottawa Indian Tribe or for a Native American word meaning "trader". It's county seat is Port Clinton and was founded March 6, 1840. It is located in the North-Central area of the state.[3]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [4]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Lucas County  • Wood County  • Sandusky County  • Erie County

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1940) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones


Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

OHGenWeb
OHGenWeb Tombstone Photos

Ohio Gravestones



See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
  • Online hyperlink to published book entitled: "Cemetery inscriptions of Ottawa County, Ohio
    Port Clinton, Ohio?: The Society, 1976, 227 pgs." Located at HeritageQuestonline Login required.

Census[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Catholic[edit | edit source]
  • 1796–2004 Ohio, Diocese of Toledo, Catholic Parish Records, 1796-2004 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection includes images of parish registers recording the events of baptism, first communion, confirmation, marriage, and death in the Diocese of Toledo (Ohio), Roman Catholic Church. These records are accessed by browsing the images by county. In addition to traditional parish registers, this collection includes miscellaneous cemetery records, Books of the Elect, Professions of Faith, Sick Call registers, etc.
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
  • Records of St. John's Lutheran Church, Oak Harbor, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[5]

Finding Church Records at Other Repositories

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ottawa County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]
  • Ottawa County Genealogical Society, The History of Ottawa County, Ohio and Its' Families, (Port Clinton, Ohio: Ohio Genealogical Society. Ottawa County Chapter, 1985). FHL book 977.1212 D3h
  • Hardesty, L.Q., Illustrated Historical Atlas of Ottawa County, Ohio, (Chicago, Illinois: H.H. Hardesty, 1874). FHL film 559334

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. =====Finding More Land Records===== Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps[edit | edit source]

MichiganLucas CountyWood CountySandusky CountyErie CountyOH OTTAWA.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Ottawa County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ottawa County.

- 41st Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies F and I
- 100th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company G
World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

The Ohio Obituary Index includes references to more than 1.5 million death, marriage and obituary notices.  What began as a project at the Hayes Presidential Center grew into a partnership with 40 public libraries throughout the state of Ohio.  Some of the listings date back as far as 1830.  In addition to newspaper obituaries, the index includes entries indexing church records, federal mortality indexes, family papers, etc.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

  • Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981).  Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981).FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]


Ottawa County Courthouse
315 Madison Street Rm 103
Port Clinton OH 43452-1936
Phone: 419.734.6752

County Health Department has birth, death and burial records;
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records; Clerk Court
has divorce and court records from 1840 and naturalization 1905-1929;
County Recorder has land records[6]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Harris-Elmore Public Library
328 Toledo St.
Elmore, Ohio

Ottawa County Genealogical Society (OGS Chapter)
310 Madison St.
Port Clinton
They meet at the Ida Rupp Public Library

Ida Rupp Public Library
310 Madison St.
Port Clinton

Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Connecticut Western Reserve in northeast Ohio.png

The Connecticut Western Reserve  was a part of northeast Ohio originally intended for settlement by Revolutionary War refugees from Connecticut.[7] The former Connecticut Western Reserve  lands were in the modern counties of Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Erie, Geauga, Huron, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Trumbull fully, but also in parts of Ashland, Mahoning, Ottawa, Summit, and Wayne counties in Ohio.

The Research Library at the Western Reserve Historical Society History Center  is the premier repository for Cleveland, Ohio and Connecticut Western Reserve history material. One of the principal strengths is its manuscript collections.[8] The WRHS collection has original land records, genealogies of New England, New York, and Pennsylvania, biographies, histories, and family Bibles.[7]

Other Societies

  • Elmore Historical Society
Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ottawa County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court with divorce records located with the Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • 1840-2001 - Ohio, County Death Records, 1840-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
  • 1908-1953 - Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953. Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ottawa County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Ottawa County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/ottawa/ accessed 2/22/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Ottawa County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ottawa_County,_Ohio, accessed 7 January 2019.
  5. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ottawa County, Ohio. Page 544 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. 7.0 7.1 William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 89. At various repositories (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 J54d.
  8. Family History and Genealogical Research in Western Reserve Historical Society (accessed 11 March 2015).