Othery, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Othery, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search
Somerset Parishes

Guide to Othery, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Othery, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitley
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bridgwater
Registration District Bridgwater
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Glastonbury
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

OTHERY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Bridgwater, hundred of Whitley, W. division of Somerset, 4½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Langport, containing part of the hamlet of Boroughbridge. Here is a place of worship for Independents.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Othery, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
OTHERY PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1654-1849

1560-1752, 1755-1878



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 486-491. Date accessed and adapted: 20 March 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.