Oswestry Holy Trinity, Shropshire Genealogy
Guide to Oswestry Holy Trinity, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Oswestry Holy Trinity, Shropshire|
|Poor Law Union||Oswestry|
|Parish registers: 1851|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
OSWESTRY (St. Oswald), an incorporated market-town, a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Oswestry, N. division of Salop.
The town was the administrative headquarters of the Borough of Oswestry until that was abolished on 1 April 2009. Oswestry is the third largest town in Shropshire, following Telford and Shrewsbury
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Oswestry Holy Trinity, Shropshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Oswestry Holy Trinity, Shropshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,&amp;amp;nbsp; A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 486-491.&amp;amp;nbsp. Adapted. Date acceessed: 20 November 2013.
- 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.