Osmaston by Ashbourne, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Osmaston by Ashbourne, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Osmaston by Ashbourne, Derbyshire|
Osmaston St Martin Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Ashbourne|
|Parish registers: 1606|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Osmaston by Ashbourne, St Martin, is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1849 from chapelry in Brailsford, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. The present church replaced an earlier church and was built in 1845 as part of the model estate village constructed in the 1850s by the owner of Osmaston Hall. The Wesleyan Methodists have a place of worship.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Osmaston by Ashbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Osmaston by Ashbourne St Martin (1606) Parish Online Records|
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1880 Mar 1662-1836 Burials 1662-1880
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Osmaston by Ashbourne on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 486-491. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.