Oskarshamn Parish, Kalmar, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Kalmar County
Oskarshamn


Guide to Oskarshamn Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Oskarshamn Church
Påskallavik Church

History

Oskarshamn Municipality is a municipality in Kalmar County in south-eastern Sweden, where the city Oskarshamn is the seat.
The amalgamations in the present municipality took place in 1967 when three rural municipalities joined the City of Oskarshamn, which was transformed into a municipality of unitary type in 1971. Any records before 1856 will be found in Döderhultsvik; Click here for Doderhult Website. Any information after 1856 for Oskarshamn will be found in Oskarshamn.
[1]

Oskarshamn Parish, Kalmar, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Kalmar
Landskap Småland
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here
NAD Ref Code SE/VALA/00293
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names

Bryggeriet,

Fattighuset, Flickskolan,

Kvarteret Nr 1 - 420,

Pottaskebruket,

Rådhuset,

Skeppsvarvet,

Testerhuset, Teoegrafbyrån, Torget, Tullstugan.

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kalmat Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Kalmar and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

PLF Database -- A large portion of births, marriages, and deaths have been indexed on CD-Roms for the county of Kalmar. The 4 disc set has been created by Person-och Lokalhistoriskt Forskarcentrum, Oskarshamn (PLF). To learn more about these CD-Roms click here.
Nixon -- a name index of Biographical and genealogical information for Kalmar and a few other counties.  To learn more click here.

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Ortnamnsregister för Oskarshamn, Husförhörslängd 1854-1861