Orwell, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Orwell, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Caxton|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Orwell, is a village and a parish in Caxton district, Cambridgeshire. The village is 3 miles N N W of Shepreth railway station, and 6¾ miles N of Royston, the post-office is under Royston. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Orwell, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Orwell, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
||1599-1853, 1895||1599-1853, 1895||
Parish registers for Orwell, 1560-1877 at FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Orwell, 1599-1895 have been digitised.
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Orwell on GENUKI