Orre Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Orre, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
|Fogderi||Jæderen og Dalene|
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Records for Klepp clerical district begin in 1787. They contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Klepp, Orre and Bore. The earlier church records were burned in 1784 and 1793. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
Records of the Free Apostolic Christian congregation in Klepp and Stavanger from 1859 to 1903. Includes lists of members, births and deaths.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. 1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district at Digitalarkivet.
- 1701 Census - Manntall 1701 for Stavanger Amt.
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district. Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt at Digitalarkivet.
The 1801 census (b. 38) for Klepp clerical district includes Klepp, Orre, and Bore parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. 1801-telling for Klep at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. 1865-telling for Klep at Digitalarkivet.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. 1875-teljing for Klep at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. 1900-telling for Klep at Digitalarkivet.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Availability[edit | edit source]
Farm Book[edit | edit source]
- A genealogy of the people and the farms they lived on in Klepp in Rogaland county with some history of the area.
Brunes, Erling and Øvregård, Andreas, "Klepp gards- og ættesoga gjenom 400 år 1519-1900", Stavanger, Norway: Utgjeve ved Klepp kommune, 1963 948.31/K1 D2b FHL Intl Book
- Index to Klepp gards- og ættesoga gjenom 400 år
Waula, Jørg Eirik Waula, "Klepp gards- og ættesoge personregister", Stavanger, Norway : Rogaland Historie og Ættesogelag, 1996. 948.31/K1 D2b index FHL INTL Book
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
37 Aase nedre
30 Breiholen, 33 Brenderholen, 36 Bækken
31 Heien, 28 Horpestad nedre
29 Rosland store
34 Salte midtre, 38 Skeie