Orleans County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Orleans County, Vermont)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Vermont
Orleans County

Guide to Orleans County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Orleans County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Orleans County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded October 5, 1792
County Seat Newport
Courthouse
VermontOrleansCourthouse.jpg
Address Orleans County Courthouse
83 Main Street, Newport, VT 05855-1214
802-334-3344, 802-334-2711
Fax: 802-334-3385
Orleans County Website


County Courthouse

Town and City Clerks have birth, marriage, death and City Clerks have birth, marriage, death and land records; District Probate Court has probate records; County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1800.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Barton 1789
Craftsbury 1781
Derby 1779
Glover 1783
Greensboro 1781
Holland 1779
Jay 1792
Westfield 1780 [1]

History

Parent County

  • Created 5 November 1792 from Orange County. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities


City:

Towns:

Extinct Town:

Villages:

  • Albany
  • Barton
  • Derby Center
  • Derby Line
  • North Troy
  • Orleans

Community:

  • Beebe Plain

Neighboring Counties

Caledonia | Essex | Franklin | Lamoille | Brome, Quebec | Missisquoi, Quebec | Stanstead, Quebec

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VTGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
VTTombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Church Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Orleans County

Military

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company D

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for the following Vermont certificates:

Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Historical Societies

Orleans County Historical Society
109 Old Stone House Road
Brownington, VT 05860
Phone: 802-754-2022
Website

Albany Historical Society
PO Box 317
Albany, VT 05820
Phone: 802-755-6105

Charleston Historical Society
PO Box 46
East Charleston, VT 05833
Phone: 802-723-4833

Craftsbury Historical Society
258 The Ledges
Craftsbury, VT 05826
Phone: 802-755-6178

Crystal Lake Falls Historical Association
PO Box 253
Pierce House
97 Water Street
Barton, VT 05822
Phone: 802-525-3703

Derby Historical Society
PO Box 357
Derby, VT 05829
Phone: 802-766-5324
Website

Glover Historical Society
PO Box 208
Glover, Vt 05839
Phone: 802-525-6212 or 802-525-6227
Website

Greensboro Historical Society
PO Box 151
Greensboro, VT 05841
Phone: 802-533-2457
Website

Holland Historical Society
PO Box 483
Derby Line, VT 05830
Phone: 802-766-5375

Lowell Historical Society
2170 VT Rte 100
Lowell, VT 05847
Phone: 802-744-6559 or 802-744-6859

Memphremagog Historical Society of Newport
96 Stagecoach Drive
Newport, VT 05855
Phone: 802-334-6195

Missisquoi Valley Historical Society
PO Box 237
North Troy, VT 05859
Phone: 802-988-2397

Morgan Historical Society
PO Box 113
Morgan, VT 05853
Phone: 802-723-5907

Westfield Historical Society
69 Fuller Road
Westfield, VT 05847
Phone: 802-744-8257

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Orleans County, Vermont. Page 699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.